Pharos-Tribune

Breaking News

Opinion

January 11, 2013

Thorns and Roses - Jan. 11, 2013

Good luck, Berrybotics

The Pharos-Tribune sends this Rose to Logansport High School’s new robotics team:

“Organizers were hoping to at least get the attention of 12 students when work got under way to form the Berrybotics robotics competition team. But the students at Logansport High School more than answered the call, with 55 kids signing up right away.

“Those kids and organizers are now hard at work putting together a robot that we’re certain will crush the competition. That’s not to mention how much they’ll learn about science and technology in the process.

“We welcome the enthusiasm of all involved in the team and hope you have great success. Good luck!”

Thanks for

helping mom

Marcia Gallagher sends a Rose to the owner of Rekindle and everyone helping her mother when she fell:

“On Dec. 14, my mother and I were shopping and decided to go in the new business Rekindle. I helped her up the steps and she was standing on the area right outside their front door. I was opening the door for her and she was behind me. Suddenly she said, Oh my gosh, I’m falling.’

“She fell down onto the sidewalk but was also on the steps with the top part of her body. I was trying to keep her from moving her head or shoulders as I had no idea what or where she was hurt. She said she was fine, except her left leg hurt a little.

“The owner of Rekindle called 911 for me and gave me a pillow for her head and a blanket to cover her. As quick as she fell there was a group of people stopping to help us. I’m so thankful to each and everyone of you. My mother broke her hip when she fell and is doing well as she recovers at Woodbridge. It was very heartwarming to see so many caring people stopping to help us. Thank you.”

Love in a time of loss

The family of Robert G. Peattie sends a Rose to everyone who expressed kindness for the loss of their father, husband and grandfather:

“The family of Robert G. Peattie would like to thank Kroeger Funeral Home, Pastor Dean Fager, the First United Methodist Church men’s group, Jeneanne Byers and the ladies in the kitchen and everyone who lifted us up in prayer, sent cards, sent flowers, gave a handshake or a hug or expressed kind words in the loss of our father, husband and grandpa. Thank you so much.”

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • THEIR VIEW: Indiana needs open primary elections Indiana's primary election system is dysfunctional. What the state really needs is an open primary system. This month, the Lake County election board argued about the procedures for recruiting high school students as poll workers for the May 6 primar

    April 23, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Tax bills show what smoke & mirrors don't There's a price to be paid for the decline in what we call civic engagement -- and local property taxpayers are paying that price. In case you haven't received your 2014 Cass County property tax statement yet, be prepared for a bit of sticker shock w

    April 23, 2014

  • MARCUS: Illinois brings joy to Indiana From the email this week, I sensed a profound need by Hoosiers to find joy in the problems of Illinois. Our neighbors to the west are fighting their way through a mess of their own making. They have forced themselves to raise taxes and cut services t

    April 22, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Let voters weigh option of easing daily commute There was a time in this country when workers typically lived less than an hour's walk from their jobs. A time when a "commuter" was simply a traveler taking advantage of a reduced railway fare on his way to the big city. A time when the American sub

    April 22, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: Wait a minute here — what did I just sign? When Dr. Sam said, "You've got the prostate of a 16-year-old," it was hard to keep from beaming. This must be how a woman feels when a complete stranger tells her she has a beautiful baby. Well, maybe not quite. Still, it was hard not to feel proud o

    April 22, 2014

  • LYONS: How we devalued the 'R' word At the risk of angering somebody like MSNBC's Melissa Harris-Perry, I sometimes used to joke that I only look white. Actually, I'm Irish. Meaning basically that I wasn't raised to think the man in the big house had all the answers, nor deserved all t

    April 21, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards. That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation

    April 21, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Careful look at tax structure needed Indiana legislators this year created a "blue-ribbon commission" to study the state's taxes on businesses this summer. We hope the commission will listen to Larry DeBoer, a Purdue professor who might understand Indiana's tax structure better than any

    April 20, 2014

  • KNISELY: Adventures in cat spaying If you're a regular reader of this column, you know I have a cat. I got the cat to deal with the mice. Even if you only pop in on this column from time to time, you still likely know I have mice and that I hate them. I complain about it quite regular

    April 20, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: Letters for Sunday, April 20, 2014 Power forum hopes to answer questions Do you pay electric bills? Then you are invited to learn how Public Power can often lower electric rates. Logansport's coal firing plant must be shut down within two years, and our contract with Duke expires in f

    April 20, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should mushroom hunters be allowed to forage off-trail in Indiana state parks?

Yes
No
Undecided
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Raw: Deadly Bombing in Egypt Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Raw: Obama Arrives in Japan for State Visit Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' Obama to Oso: We'll Be Here As Long As It Takes Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly Pipeline Opponents Protest on National Mall Hagel Gets Preview of New High-tech Projects S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart New Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees Named 'Piles' of Bodies in South Sudan Slaughter SCOTUS Hears Tv-over-Internet Case Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers Iowa College Finds Beauty in Bulldogs
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.