Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

January 11, 2013

Thorns and Roses - Jan. 11, 2013

Good luck, Berrybotics

The Pharos-Tribune sends this Rose to Logansport High School’s new robotics team:

“Organizers were hoping to at least get the attention of 12 students when work got under way to form the Berrybotics robotics competition team. But the students at Logansport High School more than answered the call, with 55 kids signing up right away.

“Those kids and organizers are now hard at work putting together a robot that we’re certain will crush the competition. That’s not to mention how much they’ll learn about science and technology in the process.

“We welcome the enthusiasm of all involved in the team and hope you have great success. Good luck!”

Thanks for

helping mom

Marcia Gallagher sends a Rose to the owner of Rekindle and everyone helping her mother when she fell:

“On Dec. 14, my mother and I were shopping and decided to go in the new business Rekindle. I helped her up the steps and she was standing on the area right outside their front door. I was opening the door for her and she was behind me. Suddenly she said, Oh my gosh, I’m falling.’

“She fell down onto the sidewalk but was also on the steps with the top part of her body. I was trying to keep her from moving her head or shoulders as I had no idea what or where she was hurt. She said she was fine, except her left leg hurt a little.

“The owner of Rekindle called 911 for me and gave me a pillow for her head and a blanket to cover her. As quick as she fell there was a group of people stopping to help us. I’m so thankful to each and everyone of you. My mother broke her hip when she fell and is doing well as she recovers at Woodbridge. It was very heartwarming to see so many caring people stopping to help us. Thank you.”

Love in a time of loss

The family of Robert G. Peattie sends a Rose to everyone who expressed kindness for the loss of their father, husband and grandfather:

“The family of Robert G. Peattie would like to thank Kroeger Funeral Home, Pastor Dean Fager, the First United Methodist Church men’s group, Jeneanne Byers and the ladies in the kitchen and everyone who lifted us up in prayer, sent cards, sent flowers, gave a handshake or a hug or expressed kind words in the loss of our father, husband and grandpa. Thank you so much.”

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • THEIR VIEW: Data confirms our obsession with sports Of the five highest paid employees of Indiana University, three are involved with athletics. That was the case in 2013 as well.In new evidence that spending on athletic department salaries is outpacing the rest of the university, if not the vast majo

    July 30, 2014

  • RAMPBELL: Keeping the sick at home Something strange happened here this week: Lots of workers who’ve never done so before got the right to call in sick. And that’s a good thing.The Big Apple, you see, is joining a handful of other trailblazing cities such as Washington, San Francisco

    July 30, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Patacsil was no ordinary Joe Somebody forgot to tell Joe Patacsil that if he wanted to wrestle at a Big Ten university with black and gold as its school colors ... well, most people who know anything about college wrestling today might have said he picked the wrong one -- Purdue

    July 30, 2014

  • MARCUS: The higher education funding mess Public higher education financing is unsustainable as currently configured. This conclusion was reached by two important groups over the past two years. The National Association of State Budget Officers and the State Higher Education Executive Office

    July 29, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: Are businesses missing out on interns? Are businesses missingout on interns?Admittedly we’re a little biased, but the Indiana INTERNnet and Indiana Chamber teams believe your company is not operating at full capacity if you aren’t hosting an internship program. Missing out on increased pr

    July 29, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: The state of the reunion “Katy! It’s been so long! How’ve you been?”My God, she’s gained so much weight I didn’t recognize her. It’s a good thing we’re all wearing nametags. I thought it was some distant cousin past due with triplets.“Bob! Long time, no see.”No hair, either.

    July 29, 2014

  • OUR VIEW: Indiana's right-to-work law unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 29, 2014

  • COATS: What to do next with Putin, Ukraine The tragic death of 298 people on board Malaysian Airlines flight 17 in a wheat field in eastern Ukraine marks a moment when words of disapproval and expressions of grief are not enough. This is a moment when action must follow the outrage and rhetor

    July 28, 2014

  • LYONS: The most powerful men in the world? Search the phrase “the most powerful man in the world” and what comes up are photos of grotesquely over-developed weightlifters; also Barack Obama and Vladimir Putin. Awfully ironic under present circumstances. It’s a cant term TV news anchors use to

    July 28, 2014

  • CEPEDA: What are students to eat now Remember last year’s hysteria over school lunches? Administrators, cafeteria workers, students and parents across the country freaked out when — gasp! — school lunches were made healthier.News reports throughout the 2012-13 school year — when lunch s

    July 27, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should grocery and convenience stores be allowed to sell cold beer?

Yes
No
Unsure
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Two Women Narrowly Avoid Being Hit by Train In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast New Sanctions on Key Sectors of Russian Economy Crayola Announces Family Attraction in Orlando US Ready to Slap New Sanctions on Russia Kerry: Not Worried About Israeli Criticism Boater Rescued From Edge of Kentucky Dam Girl Struck by Plane on Florida Beach Dies Rodents Rampant in Gardens Around Louvre House to Vote on Slimmed-down Bill for Border Looming Demand Could Undercut Flight Safety Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.