Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

January 1, 2013

OUR VIEW: Teen birth rate, economy top 2013 agenda

Representatives of local school corporations and other organizations began a community conversation last year concerning Cass County’s teen birth rate. The rate has dropped in recent years, but it’s still way too high.

The issue is among those being tackled by a coalition called Better Health for Cass County, and it’s one the community simply must address.

Teen moms are more likely to experience complications during childbirth, and their babies are more likely to have health challenges such as low birth weight. Boys born to teenage mothers are more likely to wind up in jail.

Addressing this issue will be our No. 1 priority of 2013.

The coming year will also see much discussion about a plan to develop a $500 million trash-to-energy system for Logansport Municipal Utilities. LMU expects to have proposals by early this month, and it plans to make a decision in February. After that will come perhaps two years of regulatory action followed by another two years of construction.

Our goal through all of this will be to keep our readers informed on the project and its implications and to ensure that officials honor their pledge to keep the process open and aboveboard.

This year will also bring the long-awaited opening of the Hoosier Heartland. Efforts to dress up the city’s entryways have begun, and officials are already planning for the development boom near Ivy Tech. The new highway could well change the face of Logansport.

Our goal will be to make sure that the new highway becomes an economic benefit rather than a way to bypass Logansport entirely.

Another key objective for the new year will be to promote the creation of new jobs in Logansport and Cass County through a coordinated economic development effort. Our goal will be to encourage a shared economic vision for the region and to make sure the key players find common ground.

We also will support Mayor Ted Franklin in his efforts to rid neighborhoods of blighted properties and explore the development of new housing.

We will encourage local government officials to save taxpayer dollars through collaboration and consolidation of services, and we’ll carry out our watchdog role by holding public officials accountable.

We will support local schools in their efforts to improve student performance, and we’ll encourage state officials to make certain that the measures it is using are both accurate and fair.

We’ll continue efforts to identify this community’s assets and promote them. Logansport and Cass County have much to brag about, and we’ll take seriously our role as the community’s cheerleader.

We enter 2013 with a great deal of optimism. Logansport and Cass County stand poised for an exciting year, and we pledge to keep our readers informed of developments.

Those are our goals for the coming year. If you have other goals, we’d encourage you to share them.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • COATS: What to do next with Putin, Ukraine The tragic death of 298 people on board Malaysian Airlines flight 17 in a wheat field in eastern Ukraine marks a moment when words of disapproval and expressions of grief are not enough. This is a moment when action must follow the outrage and rhetor

    July 28, 2014

  • LYONS: The most powerful men in the world? Search the phrase “the most powerful man in the world” and what comes up are photos of grotesquely over-developed weightlifters; also Barack Obama and Vladimir Putin. Awfully ironic under present circumstances. It’s a cant term TV news anchors use to

    July 28, 2014

  • CEPEDA: What are students to eat now Remember last year’s hysteria over school lunches? Administrators, cafeteria workers, students and parents across the country freaked out when — gasp! — school lunches were made healthier.News reports throughout the 2012-13 school year — when lunch s

    July 27, 2014

  • HOWEY: Rising up to meet Putin’s thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 27, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Congress scolded for its failures Retired Congressman Lee Hamilton has warned of the perils of political ideology, calling the body where he spent 34 years “noxiously partisan.” Now, he worries the divide is downright dangerous. A co-chairman of the 9/11 Commission, Hamilton and fell

    July 27, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: Letters for Sunday, July 27, 2014 Residents want to see development pactI’ve been attending the Utility Service Board monthly meetings for the past several months to better understand the ongoing plans for first Pyrolyzer and now a purchase agreement with Total Concept Solutions.Thre

    July 27, 2014

  • DORAN: How to handle the pool problem By Terry DoranGuest columnistAs a longtime board member of the parks board and having grown up nearby, it troubles me to read of the decision to close the city pool at Tower Park. This is obviously not a new discussion. I sat in on many meetings with

    July 27, 2014

  • WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 25, 2014

  • FREY: Hero pilot still on a mission to save lives Ordinary people who live their lives, do something spectacular one day, and then embrace a great cause after retirement are tops in my book.Chesley “Sully” Sullenberger III is such an individual. He is the pilot who safely landed a US Airways airplan

    July 25, 2014

  • HAMILTON: Why incumbents keep getting reelected It’s no news that Congress is unpopular. In fact, at times it seems like the only real novelty on Capitol Hill would be a jump in its approval rating. In June, a Gallup poll found members’ standing with the American people at a historic low for a mid

    July 24, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should grocery and convenience stores be allowed to sell cold beer?

Yes
No
Unsure
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.