Pharos-Tribune

Breaking News

Opinion

January 1, 2013

OUR VIEW: Teen birth rate, economy top 2013 agenda

Representatives of local school corporations and other organizations began a community conversation last year concerning Cass County’s teen birth rate. The rate has dropped in recent years, but it’s still way too high.

The issue is among those being tackled by a coalition called Better Health for Cass County, and it’s one the community simply must address.

Teen moms are more likely to experience complications during childbirth, and their babies are more likely to have health challenges such as low birth weight. Boys born to teenage mothers are more likely to wind up in jail.

Addressing this issue will be our No. 1 priority of 2013.

The coming year will also see much discussion about a plan to develop a $500 million trash-to-energy system for Logansport Municipal Utilities. LMU expects to have proposals by early this month, and it plans to make a decision in February. After that will come perhaps two years of regulatory action followed by another two years of construction.

Our goal through all of this will be to keep our readers informed on the project and its implications and to ensure that officials honor their pledge to keep the process open and aboveboard.

This year will also bring the long-awaited opening of the Hoosier Heartland. Efforts to dress up the city’s entryways have begun, and officials are already planning for the development boom near Ivy Tech. The new highway could well change the face of Logansport.

Our goal will be to make sure that the new highway becomes an economic benefit rather than a way to bypass Logansport entirely.

Another key objective for the new year will be to promote the creation of new jobs in Logansport and Cass County through a coordinated economic development effort. Our goal will be to encourage a shared economic vision for the region and to make sure the key players find common ground.

We also will support Mayor Ted Franklin in his efforts to rid neighborhoods of blighted properties and explore the development of new housing.

We will encourage local government officials to save taxpayer dollars through collaboration and consolidation of services, and we’ll carry out our watchdog role by holding public officials accountable.

We will support local schools in their efforts to improve student performance, and we’ll encourage state officials to make certain that the measures it is using are both accurate and fair.

We’ll continue efforts to identify this community’s assets and promote them. Logansport and Cass County have much to brag about, and we’ll take seriously our role as the community’s cheerleader.

We enter 2013 with a great deal of optimism. Logansport and Cass County stand poised for an exciting year, and we pledge to keep our readers informed of developments.

Those are our goals for the coming year. If you have other goals, we’d encourage you to share them.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • THEIR VIEW: Indiana needs open primary elections Indiana's primary election system is dysfunctional. What the state really needs is an open primary system. This month, the Lake County election board argued about the procedures for recruiting high school students as poll workers for the May 6 primar

    April 23, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Tax bills show what smoke & mirrors don't There's a price to be paid for the decline in what we call civic engagement -- and local property taxpayers are paying that price. In case you haven't received your 2014 Cass County property tax statement yet, be prepared for a bit of sticker shock w

    April 23, 2014

  • MARCUS: Illinois brings joy to Indiana From the email this week, I sensed a profound need by Hoosiers to find joy in the problems of Illinois. Our neighbors to the west are fighting their way through a mess of their own making. They have forced themselves to raise taxes and cut services t

    April 22, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Let voters weigh option of easing daily commute There was a time in this country when workers typically lived less than an hour's walk from their jobs. A time when a "commuter" was simply a traveler taking advantage of a reduced railway fare on his way to the big city. A time when the American sub

    April 22, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: Wait a minute here — what did I just sign? When Dr. Sam said, "You've got the prostate of a 16-year-old," it was hard to keep from beaming. This must be how a woman feels when a complete stranger tells her she has a beautiful baby. Well, maybe not quite. Still, it was hard not to feel proud o

    April 22, 2014

  • LYONS: How we devalued the 'R' word At the risk of angering somebody like MSNBC's Melissa Harris-Perry, I sometimes used to joke that I only look white. Actually, I'm Irish. Meaning basically that I wasn't raised to think the man in the big house had all the answers, nor deserved all t

    April 21, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards. That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation

    April 21, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Careful look at tax structure needed Indiana legislators this year created a "blue-ribbon commission" to study the state's taxes on businesses this summer. We hope the commission will listen to Larry DeBoer, a Purdue professor who might understand Indiana's tax structure better than any

    April 20, 2014

  • KNISELY: Adventures in cat spaying If you're a regular reader of this column, you know I have a cat. I got the cat to deal with the mice. Even if you only pop in on this column from time to time, you still likely know I have mice and that I hate them. I complain about it quite regular

    April 20, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: Letters for Sunday, April 20, 2014 Power forum hopes to answer questions Do you pay electric bills? Then you are invited to learn how Public Power can often lower electric rates. Logansport's coal firing plant must be shut down within two years, and our contract with Duke expires in f

    April 20, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should mushroom hunters be allowed to forage off-trail in Indiana state parks?

Yes
No
Undecided
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Raw: Deadly Bombing in Egypt Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Raw: Obama Arrives in Japan for State Visit Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' Obama to Oso: We'll Be Here As Long As It Takes Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly Pipeline Opponents Protest on National Mall Hagel Gets Preview of New High-tech Projects S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart New Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees Named 'Piles' of Bodies in South Sudan Slaughter SCOTUS Hears Tv-over-Internet Case Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers Iowa College Finds Beauty in Bulldogs
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.