Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

January 14, 2014

THEIR VIEW: Attack carp problem on our own

Asian carp do not belong in Indiana’s beloved Wabash River.

Yet, the invasive fish are thriving in it, to the detriment of the river’s natural aquatic wildlife. The bighead and silver carp species devour the plankton and algae crucial to the native Wabash fish, threatening to break its centuries-old food chain. A generation ago, boaters often towed water skiers, skimming atop the Wabash for fun. Few people attempt skiing on it these days, lest they get hit by the leaping carp.

Their exploits make entertaining YouTube videos. Agitated by boat motors, the carp — which can measure 4 feet in length and 90 pounds in weight — pop up, often landing inside the watercraft, colliding with the pilot or passengers. After one or two encounters, though, the novelty of Asian carp wears off. People who love to experience the Wabash waters regularly do not enjoy their presence.

Nobody invited them into this river. The carp were imported to clear fisheries in the South, escaped into the Mississippi River valley in the 1980s and ‘90s, and migrated north to the Wabash about a decade ago. The jumping, aggressive critters have made themselves at home here, starving out native fish.

They are, like the John Belushi character in an old “Saturday Night Live” skit, “the things that wouldn’t leave.”

Thus, we share the disappointment of Indiana Attorney General Greg Zoeller, who criticized a U.S. Army Corps of Engineers report on options for controlling Asian carp in the Great Lakes and Mississippi River basin. The study details possibilities for keeping the carp from entering the Great Lakes through Mississippi River tributaries. It provided no remedies for the already-invaded Wabash.

The Army Corps responded to Zoeller’s complaints by pointing out that Congress authorized the study, mandating it focus on the Great Lakes and the Mississippi. The study does explain preventive work done at Eagle Marsh, a Fort Wayne area site where Wabash flooding could send Asian carp into the Maumee River, a Lake Erie tributary, Dave Wethington, an Army Corps project manager, told the Lafayette Journal & Courier.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • THEIR VIEW: Lawmakers fail to act on the issue After several years of fretting over Indiana's ongoing methamphetamine problem, the Indiana General Assembly continues to struggle for a solution. The issue seems to come up every session, given that Indiana leader the nation in meth lab seizures. Bu

    April 17, 2014

  • WILLIAMS: Feelings of the flowers I took one of those fun tests on Facebook to see what kind of flower I am and lo and behold, it said I was an orchid! That is so wrong because I have always thought I was the exact opposite of an orchid. I'd characterize myself as a daisy. You know,

    April 17, 2014

  • HAMILTON: Government as innovator? You bet! Five years ago, the federal government spent $169 billion to fund basic research and development. This fiscal year, it's down to $134 billion. People who believe in public belt-tightening applaud drops like that. I understand why: there are many reas

    April 17, 2014

  • PARKER: It's time to take a joke, America In selecting Stephen Colbert to replace David Letterman as host of the "Late Show," CBS has waged war on America's Heartland -- or so proclaims that Palm Beach font of heartland mirth, Rush Limbaugh. Don't you believe it, Heartlanders. But wait, ther

    April 16, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Constitutional convention won't work today There seems to be a growing idea that we need a Constitutional convention. That, of course, is the other way to change the Constitution. Amendments have been used 27 times to make changes, ranging from limiting the president's term of office to the d

    April 16, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Forum about adding answers, subtracting questions A week from tonight, Logansport residents and those outside Logansport who purchase electricity from the Logansport Municipal Utilities will have a chance to find out some things for themselves. A free forum at McHale Performing Arts Center will feat

    April 16, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: The people are losing control of its government The people are losing control of government President Obama and progressive Democrats and Republicans are changing the landscape of our country by bypassing our Constitution and what our forefathers fought and gave their lives for. Their philosophy c

    April 16, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Health care fraud can't go unchecked National health care spending tops $2.7 trillion annually. That leaves a lot of room, and temptation, for abuse of a bureaucracy that administers medical services. Medicare and Medicaid scams may cost taxpayers more than $98 billion each year. Health

    April 15, 2014

  • MARCUS: Truth is often unwelcome Jim Feelwright greeted me warmly as I entered the room: “Well, here he is, Mr. Negative.” Since it was a friendly meeting, I borrowed a famous line from the movies: “You can’t handle the truth.” “You,” he said, “just don’t want to see what’s really h

    April 15, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: Signs of spring finally upon us Today I saw my first crocus popping up after the long winter. It was in a picture a friend posted on Facebook. Suddenly, it seemed everyone was posting pictures of buds on trees, robins on the lawn, green shoots coming up in the garden. It was almost

    April 15, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should e-cigarette marketing be regulated like tobacco?

Yes
No
Unsure
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Disbanding Muslim Surveillance Draws Praise Hundreds Missing After South Korean Ferry Sinks Passengers Abuzz After Plane Hits Swarm of Bees Boston Bomb Scare Defendant Appears in Court Pistorius Trial: Adjourned Until May 5 Diaz Gets Physical for New Comedy Raw: Ferry Sinks Off South Korean Coast Town, Victims Remember Texas Blast Freeze Leaves Florida Panhandle With Dead Trees At Boston Marathon, a Chance to Finally Finish Are School Dress Codes Too Strict? Raw: Fatal Ferry Boat Accident Suspicious Bags Found Near Marathon Finish Line Boston Marks the 1st Anniversary of Bombing NYPD Ends Muslim Surveillance Program 8-year-old Boy Gets His Wish: Fly Like Iron Man Sex Offenders Arrested in Slayings of CA Women India's Transgenders Celebrate Historic Ruling Tributes Mark Boston Bombing Anniversary Raw: Kan. Shooting Suspect Faces Judge
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.