Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

January 14, 2014

THEIR VIEW: Attack carp problem on our own

Asian carp do not belong in Indiana’s beloved Wabash River.

Yet, the invasive fish are thriving in it, to the detriment of the river’s natural aquatic wildlife. The bighead and silver carp species devour the plankton and algae crucial to the native Wabash fish, threatening to break its centuries-old food chain. A generation ago, boaters often towed water skiers, skimming atop the Wabash for fun. Few people attempt skiing on it these days, lest they get hit by the leaping carp.

Their exploits make entertaining YouTube videos. Agitated by boat motors, the carp — which can measure 4 feet in length and 90 pounds in weight — pop up, often landing inside the watercraft, colliding with the pilot or passengers. After one or two encounters, though, the novelty of Asian carp wears off. People who love to experience the Wabash waters regularly do not enjoy their presence.

Nobody invited them into this river. The carp were imported to clear fisheries in the South, escaped into the Mississippi River valley in the 1980s and ‘90s, and migrated north to the Wabash about a decade ago. The jumping, aggressive critters have made themselves at home here, starving out native fish.

They are, like the John Belushi character in an old “Saturday Night Live” skit, “the things that wouldn’t leave.”

Thus, we share the disappointment of Indiana Attorney General Greg Zoeller, who criticized a U.S. Army Corps of Engineers report on options for controlling Asian carp in the Great Lakes and Mississippi River basin. The study details possibilities for keeping the carp from entering the Great Lakes through Mississippi River tributaries. It provided no remedies for the already-invaded Wabash.

The Army Corps responded to Zoeller’s complaints by pointing out that Congress authorized the study, mandating it focus on the Great Lakes and the Mississippi. The study does explain preventive work done at Eagle Marsh, a Fort Wayne area site where Wabash flooding could send Asian carp into the Maumee River, a Lake Erie tributary, Dave Wethington, an Army Corps project manager, told the Lafayette Journal & Courier.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • COATS: What to do next with Putin, Ukraine The tragic death of 298 people on board Malaysian Airlines flight 17 in a wheat field in eastern Ukraine marks a moment when words of disapproval and expressions of grief are not enough. This is a moment when action must follow the outrage and rhetor

    July 28, 2014

  • LYONS: The most powerful men in the world? Search the phrase “the most powerful man in the world” and what comes up are photos of grotesquely over-developed weightlifters; also Barack Obama and Vladimir Putin. Awfully ironic under present circumstances. It’s a cant term TV news anchors use to

    July 28, 2014

  • CEPEDA: What are students to eat now Remember last year’s hysteria over school lunches? Administrators, cafeteria workers, students and parents across the country freaked out when — gasp! — school lunches were made healthier.News reports throughout the 2012-13 school year — when lunch s

    July 27, 2014

  • HOWEY: Rising up to meet Putin’s thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 27, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Congress scolded for its failures Retired Congressman Lee Hamilton has warned of the perils of political ideology, calling the body where he spent 34 years “noxiously partisan.” Now, he worries the divide is downright dangerous. A co-chairman of the 9/11 Commission, Hamilton and fell

    July 27, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: Letters for Sunday, July 27, 2014 Residents want to see development pactI’ve been attending the Utility Service Board monthly meetings for the past several months to better understand the ongoing plans for first Pyrolyzer and now a purchase agreement with Total Concept Solutions.Thre

    July 27, 2014

  • DORAN: How to handle the pool problem By Terry DoranGuest columnistAs a longtime board member of the parks board and having grown up nearby, it troubles me to read of the decision to close the city pool at Tower Park. This is obviously not a new discussion. I sat in on many meetings with

    July 27, 2014

  • WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 25, 2014

  • FREY: Hero pilot still on a mission to save lives Ordinary people who live their lives, do something spectacular one day, and then embrace a great cause after retirement are tops in my book.Chesley “Sully” Sullenberger III is such an individual. He is the pilot who safely landed a US Airways airplan

    July 25, 2014

  • HAMILTON: Why incumbents keep getting reelected It’s no news that Congress is unpopular. In fact, at times it seems like the only real novelty on Capitol Hill would be a jump in its approval rating. In June, a Gallup poll found members’ standing with the American people at a historic low for a mid

    July 24, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should grocery and convenience stores be allowed to sell cold beer?

Yes
No
Unsure
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.