Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

January 14, 2014

VILLAGE IDIOT: My sincerest generic apologies

Dear readers,

I want to sincerely apologize for the (pick one) racist, sexist, homophobic, xenophobic, ethnic, vulgar, prurient, misinformed, false and/or insulting remark in last week’s column. I was completely at fault, the buck stops with me and even though I was (pick one) heavily medicated, drunk, having a bipolar episode, stressed out, taking meth, addicted to painkillers, on steroids, butt-dialing, sexting, autocorrected, unintentionally plagiarizing, smoking crack, going through a painful divorce and/or hearing voices, there is simply no excuse for that kind of hurtful statement.

I blame no one but myself, even though several of my highly paid (pick one) Jewish, black, Arab, Native American, Asian, female, Polish and/or LGBT editors could have asked for a rewrite at any time, and none of them did. Not that they should be blamed for my mistakes and besides, now is not the time to play the blame game. There will be time enough for that in the months and years ahead, say, 10 or 20 years from now.

It was not my intention to cause pain or to insult any group, especially (pick one) voters, readers, members of Congress, congregants, lobbyists, the elderly, women, the LGBT community, liberals, conservatives, independents, libertarians, college students, parents, newlyweds and/or middle-aged white men. Who knew there were so many of you?

You can stop with the Twittering and Facebooking already — I’m sorry, I get it, I take it all back. Unlike some people, I take full responsibility for my (pick one) inappropriate, insensitive, thoughtless, cruel, uninformed, ignorant and/or demeaning comments, but that doesn’t mean I should be punished. After all, I’ve said I’m sorry; what more do you want? You want me to punish myself, too? You guys are so strict.

OK, to show how sincerely sorry I am, I plan to make a deposit in the “but he’s really a good guy who simply made one little mistake” bank. That’s right: I’m making a donation to the charity most beloved by those I have offended. How does $50 million sound? It sounds good, doesn’t it? Unfortunately, I don’t have $50 million. But I do have $50, and except for one little word, it sounds almost the same — and we all agreed it sounded good. After all, it’s the thought that counts.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Sandra Stotsky STOTSKY: The next step redux in education standards Writing at National Review Online, Rick Hess and Mike McShane of the American Enterprise Institute make the complaint that critics of Common Core have not come up with the next steps to "repeal and replace" for states that want to restore academic in

    April 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • WILLIAMS: Get out on the highway My son's truck is in the shop and my friend, Jan, was in the hospital so I had her truck in order to be able to go feed her cats while John used my car to go to work. Jan and I both purchased vehicles before we retired that we hoped would be the last

    April 24, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Indiana needs open primary elections Indiana's primary election system is dysfunctional. What the state really needs is an open primary system. This month, the Lake County election board argued about the procedures for recruiting high school students as poll workers for the May 6 primar

    April 23, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Tax bills show what smoke & mirrors don't There's a price to be paid for the decline in what we call civic engagement -- and local property taxpayers are paying that price. In case you haven't received your 2014 Cass County property tax statement yet, be prepared for a bit of sticker shock w

    April 23, 2014

  • MARCUS: Illinois brings joy to Indiana From the email this week, I sensed a profound need by Hoosiers to find joy in the problems of Illinois. Our neighbors to the west are fighting their way through a mess of their own making. They have forced themselves to raise taxes and cut services t

    April 22, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Let voters weigh option of easing daily commute There was a time in this country when workers typically lived less than an hour's walk from their jobs. A time when a "commuter" was simply a traveler taking advantage of a reduced railway fare on his way to the big city. A time when the American sub

    April 22, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: Wait a minute here — what did I just sign? When Dr. Sam said, "You've got the prostate of a 16-year-old," it was hard to keep from beaming. This must be how a woman feels when a complete stranger tells her she has a beautiful baby. Well, maybe not quite. Still, it was hard not to feel proud o

    April 22, 2014

  • LYONS: How we devalued the 'R' word At the risk of angering somebody like MSNBC's Melissa Harris-Perry, I sometimes used to joke that I only look white. Actually, I'm Irish. Meaning basically that I wasn't raised to think the man in the big house had all the answers, nor deserved all t

    April 21, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards. That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation

    April 21, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Careful look at tax structure needed Indiana legislators this year created a "blue-ribbon commission" to study the state's taxes on businesses this summer. We hope the commission will listen to Larry DeBoer, a Purdue professor who might understand Indiana's tax structure better than any

    April 20, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should mushroom hunters be allowed to forage off-trail in Indiana state parks?

Yes
No
Undecided
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
SKorea Ferry Toll Hits 156, Search Gets Tougher Video Shows Possible Syrian Gas Attack Cubs Superfans Celebrate Wrigley's 100th Raw: Cattle Truck Overturns in Texas Admirers Flock to Dole During Kansas Homecoming Raw: Erupting Volcanoes in Guatemala and Peru Alibaba IPO Could Be Largest Ever for Tech Firm FBI Joining Probe of Suburban NY 'Swatting' Call U.S. Paratroopers in Poland, Amid Ukraine Crisis US Reviews Clemency for Certain Inmates Raw: Violence Erupts in Rio Near Olympic Venue Raw: Deadly Bombing in Egypt Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Raw: Obama Arrives in Japan for State Visit Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.