Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

February 2, 2014

KNISELY: A whole world of problems

(Continued)

I was hoping my water would magically be back on in hopes of not putting my friend out for another night, but there was no sign of improvement. And to make matters worse, the mouse was still there and made a mad dash upon my arrival in the kitchen.

I put down three mouse traps, repacked my bag and set out on the long haul to Galveston. At 30 mph, it’s a long haul from Walton.

Get up Monday and head to Kokomo to get my car checked out. Turns out I have two bent wheels. If you’re thinking two bent wheels doesn’t sound like a cheap fix, you’d be right.

I get back home late Monday morning to find two mice had fallen victim to my traps. While standing in the kitchen trying to summon the courage to dispose of the bodies, one of the mice moved. If you live within a 50-mile radius of Cass County, you might have heard me scream. It somehow survived the smack of the trap and was now trying to free itself from its snare.

I emptied the trash can in the bathroom and put it over the mouse. I then placed a full laundry basket on top of the trash can, and then called my neighbor to come kill the mouse.

He had a good laugh at my expense when he arrived to find me standing guard over my makeshift cage with a broom in case of an escape.

The neighbor is also the plumber, so he stayed and worked on the pipes while I went to work. He called that evening to tell me I have water. I got home after work Monday night to find I also had another dead mouse to deal with.

Not the cap I wanted after an already-exhausting weekend.

By the time you’re reading this, I’ll be wrapping up another weekend. And let me tell you, if it’s been anything like last weekend, I’m filing an official complaint with the universe.

Misty Knisely is managing editor of the Pharos-Tribune. She can be reached at misty.knisely@pharostribune.com. Follow her on Twitter: @PharosMK

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • THEIR VIEW: Mo-ped law long overdue We’ve all seen them on the streets, and their popularity is only growing. Mo-peds have coasted in a legal grey area for years in Indiana.A lack of registration, testing and licensure allowed those without other means of transport to join other vehicl

    August 20, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Quality of life and leaders both matter It was with some astonishment and much disappointment I read in the Aug. 5 edition of the Pharos-Tribune that one of our local city councilmen was quoted as saying that previous efforts in Logansport to use Tax Increment Financing money for quality o

    August 20, 2014

  • RAMPELL: Here comes Entrepreneur Barbie WASHINGTON — Lego’s groundbreaking female-scientists set sold out almost immediately after it was released this month. But never fear, fans of feminist toys: A new Barbie doll, now in stock, is also shattering the plastic ceiling.Yes, that swan-necke

    August 20, 2014

  • OUR VIEW: Police force turning into military? The images this week of Ferguson, Mo., in the wake of the civil unrest caused by the death of unarmed African-American teenager Michael Brown have been shocking to say the least. Were the dateline removed from the pictures, one could easily imagine t

    August 19, 2014

  • MARCUS: Hoosier workers not gaining on the nation A few readers of the South Bend newspaper have sent emails complaining that either they do not understand my columns or that I waste their time by not sticking to the facts. That I include some of my conclusions from the data seems to be an irritant.

    August 19, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: Stock market guru will work for food At the height of its power, the photography company Kodak employed more than 140,000 people and was worth $28 billion dollars. They even invented the first digital camera. But today Kodak is bankrupt, and the new face of digital photography has becom

    August 19, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Craft brewers and vintners return to fair Brad Hawkins felt right at home hawking his beer at the Indiana State Fairgrounds last week. When Hawkins opened his Salt Creek Brewery in a converted filling station in tiny Needmore three years ago, some tee-totaling neighbors protested he was putt

    August 18, 2014

  • LYONS: Climate change deniers resort to attacks Recently a friend posted a video on Facebook that he asserted would demolish the Godless theory of evolution. On it, a fellow sitting in a pickup and wearing a backward baseball cap smugly explained that Darwinian evolution contradicts the Second Law

    August 18, 2014

  • OUR VIEW: Depression a disease, not a mood Robin Williams had it all.A picture perfect family — the supportive, doting wife and three loving children.Talent beyond belief.The admiration of the masses.Riches and all the luxuries they provide.Yes, Robin Williams sure did have it all.But he had

    August 17, 2014

  • KNISELY: Heading back to school It never ceases to amaze me the wildly different views my nieces have of getting ready to go back to school and actually going back to school every year. As school time approaches, they are ecstatic about all the stuff they get to do. One of those th

    August 17, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Does Indiana need a statewide water management plan and an administrator to implement it?

Yes
No
Unsure
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
US Trying to Verify Video of American's Killing FBI Director Addresses Ferguson Shooting in Utah Raw: Police at Scene of St. Louis Shooting Police: 2 Calif. Boys Planned School Shooting NOLA Police Chief Retires Amid Violent Crimes Lunch Bus Delivers Meals to Kids Out of School Water Bottles Recalled for Safety Researcher Testing On-Field Concussion Scanners Rockets Fired From Gaza, in Breach of Ceasefire Raw: Japanese Military Live Fire Exercise Police, Protesters Clash in Ferguson Independent Autopsy Reveals Michael Brown Wounds Nashville Embraces Motley Crue Obama: 'Time to Listen, Not Just Shout' Lawyer: Gov. Perry Indictment a 'Nasty Attack' Raw: Russian Aid Convoy Crosses Into Ukraine Iowa Man Builds Statue of a Golfer Out of Balls Assange Gets Cryptic About Leaving Embassy in UK Raw: Building Collapse in South Africa, 9 Dead Raw: Pope Francis Meets 'Comfort Women'
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.