Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

February 2, 2014

CEPEDA: Something missing in 'Mitt'

“Why would you want to watch a movie about Mitt Romney?” my son asked me as I queued up Netflix.

Because I wanted a better answer to the question I got most in the run-up to Election Day 2012: “Why don’t you hate Mitt Romney?”

Well, gosh, I don’t hate anyone. But, maybe the fact that I actually use words like “gosh” (and “smitten,” “darn” and “heck”) puts me into a special class of people (perhaps we’re “1 percenters” of a sort) who talk “old-timey,” as Romney’s diction has been described.

Linguistic parallels aside, unlike most females, racial minorities and non-millionaires, I didn’t despise the Republican standard-bearer — even after his seeming put-down of 47 percent of Americans — though I also didn’t adore him. I figured the movie would give me the opportunity to get beyond Romney’s wooden public persona and get to know the man who could have been president.

I was disappointed.

This is not a Republican video version of the soap opera-ish book “Double Down: Game Change 2012” by Mark Halperin and John Heilemann.

Filmmaker Greg Whiteley opens “Mitt” on election night 2012. A stricken circle of Romney family members and confidants begins to realize he has lost the race. Romney, ever levelheaded and considerate of propriety, asks who has the president’s phone number so he can call to concede.

As we get to know the “real” Mitt (he wears gloves patched with duct tape), we learn from his family what a colossal drag it is that Dad is running for president.

It is, by turns, awful, frustrating, sorrowful and grueling. There are endless car rides, identically bland hotel rooms, and annoying challenges. But so much love.

Really — So. Very. Much. Love.

His children and spouse are so doting, adoring and plainly awestruck by him, it becomes cringe-inducing. Lovely at first, but then perplexing. Surely at some point during the Romney family’s quixotic journey someone got crabby or angry or even a tiny bit disheveled. But we never see anything even hinting at the sort of natural tensions that come with the high-wire act of a presidential campaign.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • PARKER: It's time to take a joke, America In selecting Stephen Colbert to replace David Letterman as host of the "Late Show," CBS has waged war on America's Heartland -- or so proclaims that Palm Beach font of heartland mirth, Rush Limbaugh. Don't you believe it, Heartlanders. But wait, ther

    April 16, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Constitutional convention won't work today There seems to be a growing idea that we need a Constitutional convention. That, of course, is the other way to change the Constitution. Amendments have been used 27 times to make changes, ranging from limiting the president's term of office to the d

    April 16, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Forum about adding answers, subtracting questions A week from tonight, Logansport residents and those outside Logansport who purchase electricity from the Logansport Municipal Utilities will have a chance to find out some things for themselves. A free forum at McHale Performing Arts Center will feat

    April 16, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: The people are losing control of its government The people are losing control of government President Obama and progressive Democrats and Republicans are changing the landscape of our country by bypassing our Constitution and what our forefathers fought and gave their lives for. Their philosophy c

    April 16, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Health care fraud can't go unchecked National health care spending tops $2.7 trillion annually. That leaves a lot of room, and temptation, for abuse of a bureaucracy that administers medical services. Medicare and Medicaid scams may cost taxpayers more than $98 billion each year. Health

    April 15, 2014

  • MARCUS: Truth is often unwelcome Jim Feelwright greeted me warmly as I entered the room: “Well, here he is, Mr. Negative.” Since it was a friendly meeting, I borrowed a famous line from the movies: “You can’t handle the truth.” “You,” he said, “just don’t want to see what’s really h

    April 15, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: Signs of spring finally upon us Today I saw my first crocus popping up after the long winter. It was in a picture a friend posted on Facebook. Suddenly, it seemed everyone was posting pictures of buds on trees, robins on the lawn, green shoots coming up in the garden. It was almost

    April 15, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: Letters for Tuesday, April 15, 2014 Thankful to community for its care, prayers Thank you to Kyle Rans, Harrison-Metzger-Rans, Guardian Angels Hospice, Royal Center first responders and ambulance drivers for the gentle care and comforting words extended to our family. Thank you to the

    April 15, 2014

  • Brian Bosma BOSMA: House Republicans achieve legislative priorities When the General Assembly began its work last November, as Speaker I pledged a session driven by five main issues: increased road funding, enhanced job training, early childhood education, fair business taxation and cutting government red tape. With

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • LYONS: Taking pity on the Plutocrats "Should any political party attempt to abolish social security, unemployment insurance, and eliminate labor laws and farm programs, you would not hear of that party again in our political history. There is a tiny splinter group, of course, that belie

    April 14, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should e-cigarette marketing be regulated like tobacco?

Yes
No
Unsure
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.