Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

February 2, 2014

CEPEDA: Something missing in 'Mitt'

“Why would you want to watch a movie about Mitt Romney?” my son asked me as I queued up Netflix.

Because I wanted a better answer to the question I got most in the run-up to Election Day 2012: “Why don’t you hate Mitt Romney?”

Well, gosh, I don’t hate anyone. But, maybe the fact that I actually use words like “gosh” (and “smitten,” “darn” and “heck”) puts me into a special class of people (perhaps we’re “1 percenters” of a sort) who talk “old-timey,” as Romney’s diction has been described.

Linguistic parallels aside, unlike most females, racial minorities and non-millionaires, I didn’t despise the Republican standard-bearer — even after his seeming put-down of 47 percent of Americans — though I also didn’t adore him. I figured the movie would give me the opportunity to get beyond Romney’s wooden public persona and get to know the man who could have been president.

I was disappointed.

This is not a Republican video version of the soap opera-ish book “Double Down: Game Change 2012” by Mark Halperin and John Heilemann.

Filmmaker Greg Whiteley opens “Mitt” on election night 2012. A stricken circle of Romney family members and confidants begins to realize he has lost the race. Romney, ever levelheaded and considerate of propriety, asks who has the president’s phone number so he can call to concede.

As we get to know the “real” Mitt (he wears gloves patched with duct tape), we learn from his family what a colossal drag it is that Dad is running for president.

It is, by turns, awful, frustrating, sorrowful and grueling. There are endless car rides, identically bland hotel rooms, and annoying challenges. But so much love.

Really — So. Very. Much. Love.

His children and spouse are so doting, adoring and plainly awestruck by him, it becomes cringe-inducing. Lovely at first, but then perplexing. Surely at some point during the Romney family’s quixotic journey someone got crabby or angry or even a tiny bit disheveled. But we never see anything even hinting at the sort of natural tensions that come with the high-wire act of a presidential campaign.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • THEIR VIEW: Data confirms our obsession with sports Of the five highest paid employees of Indiana University, three are involved with athletics. That was the case in 2013 as well.In new evidence that spending on athletic department salaries is outpacing the rest of the university, if not the vast majo

    July 30, 2014

  • RAMPBELL: Keeping the sick at home Something strange happened here this week: Lots of workers who’ve never done so before got the right to call in sick. And that’s a good thing.The Big Apple, you see, is joining a handful of other trailblazing cities such as Washington, San Francisco

    July 30, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Patacsil was no ordinary Joe Somebody forgot to tell Joe Patacsil that if he wanted to wrestle at a Big Ten university with black and gold as its school colors ... well, most people who know anything about college wrestling today might have said he picked the wrong one -- Purdue

    July 30, 2014

  • MARCUS: The higher education funding mess Public higher education financing is unsustainable as currently configured. This conclusion was reached by two important groups over the past two years. The National Association of State Budget Officers and the State Higher Education Executive Office

    July 29, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: Are businesses missing out on interns? Are businesses missingout on interns?Admittedly we’re a little biased, but the Indiana INTERNnet and Indiana Chamber teams believe your company is not operating at full capacity if you aren’t hosting an internship program. Missing out on increased pr

    July 29, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: The state of the reunion “Katy! It’s been so long! How’ve you been?”My God, she’s gained so much weight I didn’t recognize her. It’s a good thing we’re all wearing nametags. I thought it was some distant cousin past due with triplets.“Bob! Long time, no see.”No hair, either.

    July 29, 2014

  • OUR VIEW: Indiana's right-to-work law unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 29, 2014

  • COATS: What to do next with Putin, Ukraine The tragic death of 298 people on board Malaysian Airlines flight 17 in a wheat field in eastern Ukraine marks a moment when words of disapproval and expressions of grief are not enough. This is a moment when action must follow the outrage and rhetor

    July 28, 2014

  • LYONS: The most powerful men in the world? Search the phrase “the most powerful man in the world” and what comes up are photos of grotesquely over-developed weightlifters; also Barack Obama and Vladimir Putin. Awfully ironic under present circumstances. It’s a cant term TV news anchors use to

    July 28, 2014

  • CEPEDA: What are students to eat now Remember last year’s hysteria over school lunches? Administrators, cafeteria workers, students and parents across the country freaked out when — gasp! — school lunches were made healthier.News reports throughout the 2012-13 school year — when lunch s

    July 27, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should grocery and convenience stores be allowed to sell cold beer?

Yes
No
Unsure
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways Raw: Thousands Flocking to German Crop Circle At Least 20 Chikungunya Cases in New Jersey Raw: Obama Eats Ribs in Kansas City In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast Raw: Otters Enjoy Water Slides at Japan Zoo NCAA Settles Head-injury Suit, Will Change Rules Raw: Japanese Soldiers Storm Beach in Exercises Raw: Weapons Fire Hits UN School in Gaza Raw: Rocket Launches Into Space With Cargo Ship Broken Water Main Floods UCLA Two Women Narrowly Avoid Being Hit by Train Crayola Announces Family Attraction in Orlando
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.