Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

February 2, 2014

HOWEY: Tax repeals and the promise of Gov. Pence

(Continued)

Think of it like this. You can create the sexiest business climate to lure companies to Indiana. Geico is bringing not only its British accent lizard (or is that an Ausssie accent?) and hundreds of jobs to Carmel, but that city has great parks, a new performing arts center, a revived downtown, trails and an improving road system. Companies wanting to set up shop in Indiana look for those amenities to attract good employees.

What the tax caps, and now a potential business personal property tax repeal could end up doing is to create communities that can’t afford to bus their kids to school, keep the street lights on, plow the snow, and fix the streets. We’ve seen the police chief in Knightstown Tase himself in a publicity stunt to buy new squad cars.

Two bills in the General Assembly - House Bill 1001 and Senate Bill 1 - begin the repeal process, but neither one of them has replacement revenue for municipalities and counties, other than a slow phase-out and the income tax. SB1 would form a summer study committee while eliminating the tax for businesses with less than $25,000 in property.

There are about six weeks left in this session, and the replacement part of this equation is sketchy at best, and revealing when you consider how ill-prepared the governor and legislative leaders have been to find a replacement solution.

As they say on ESPN, “C’mon, man!”

Last week, Republican mayors Greg Ballard of Indianapolis, Jim Brainard of Carmel, Lloyd Winnecke of Evansville and Democrat mayors Greg Goodnight of Kokomo, Tom Henry of Fort Wayne and Peter Buttigieg of South Bend met with Gov. Pence to express their alarm at what cities would face with a repeal and no replacement.

Pence sent a letter to mayors later in the day, saying, “I want to assure you that I understand your concerns. You provide essential services to your citizens, and I can see why some believe the phase-out of the business personal property tax could threaten service delivery. I have said that we cannot phase out this tax in a way that shifts the tax burden to hard-working Hoosiers. You may be assured that I will stand by these commitments to your community and your citizens.”

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • WILLIAMS: America still the dream Is America really in as bad as shape like many people say it is? I’m 67 and when I look around, I don’t see it.Everything isn’t great but believe it or not, there has never been a time when everything was great, not even in those innocent Fifties we

    July 31, 2014

  • OUR VIEW: Every town that has any sort of waterway -- whether it be a river or a creek or just a stream -- knows it will be used as a trash can. And oftentimes, tires are a favorite trash to be tossed into the waterways. Many organizations and concerned citize

    July 31, 2014

  • WERNER: The mystery of the Indian grave at Dykeman Last summer I contacted Thelma Conrad, executive director of the Cass County Historical Society, to ask her if she had any information on the Indian grave at Dykeman Park. Thelma had heard of it but had never seen the small marker that tells of the I

    July 31, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Data confirms our obsession with sports Of the five highest paid employees of Indiana University, three are involved with athletics. That was the case in 2013 as well.In new evidence that spending on athletic department salaries is outpacing the rest of the university, if not the vast majo

    July 30, 2014

  • RAMPBELL: Keeping the sick at home Something strange happened here this week: Lots of workers who’ve never done so before got the right to call in sick. And that’s a good thing.The Big Apple, you see, is joining a handful of other trailblazing cities such as Washington, San Francisco

    July 30, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Patacsil was no ordinary Joe Somebody forgot to tell Joe Patacsil that if he wanted to wrestle at a Big Ten university with black and gold as its school colors ... well, most people who know anything about college wrestling today might have said he picked the wrong one -- Purdue

    July 30, 2014

  • MARCUS: The higher education funding mess Public higher education financing is unsustainable as currently configured. This conclusion was reached by two important groups over the past two years. The National Association of State Budget Officers and the State Higher Education Executive Office

    July 29, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: Are businesses missing out on interns? Are businesses missingout on interns?Admittedly we’re a little biased, but the Indiana INTERNnet and Indiana Chamber teams believe your company is not operating at full capacity if you aren’t hosting an internship program. Missing out on increased pr

    July 29, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: The state of the reunion “Katy! It’s been so long! How’ve you been?”My God, she’s gained so much weight I didn’t recognize her. It’s a good thing we’re all wearing nametags. I thought it was some distant cousin past due with triplets.“Bob! Long time, no see.”No hair, either.

    July 29, 2014

  • OUR VIEW: Indiana's right-to-work law unnecessary It has been a crime for Indiana employers to enter into labor contracts that require workers to pay union dues since Feb. 1, 2012 — the day then-Gov. Mitch Daniels signed legislation making the Hoosier State a “right-to-work” state.Whether Indiana ke

    July 29, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should the U.S. impose a travel ban on three West African nations in response to a growing Ebola virus outbreak?

Yes
No
Not sure
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Busy Franco's Not Afraid of Overexposure Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN Raw: Deadly Landslide Hits Indian Village Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.