Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

September 21, 2012

Program aims to keep students on track

The issue: Caston Elementary School has added a new program for fifth- and sixth-grade students who had been performing below expectations.

Our view: The program has the potential of becoming a model for other schoolcorporations.

Caston Elementary School has introduced an experimental classroom it hopes will help struggling students stay focused on learning while they’re working on a computer.

The Learning Opportunity Center is designed for fifth- and sixth-grade students who were not succeeding at the level teachers thought they could.

It’s aimed at kids whose minds sometimes wander in a standard classroom, youngsters who might have their attention diverted by something outside the window or out in the hall.

This special classroom is set up to keep students focused. It’s equipped with 15 MacBook Air  laptops — two for a teacher and an aide and 13 for students — and its curriculum is drawn entirely from an interactive digital learning system called OdysseyWare.

The school’s federal Title I funding more than tripled this year to $299,000. Nearly a third of that went toward buying equipment and paying teacher salaries for the Learning Opportunity Center.

In selecting students for the new classroom, the staff tried to identify children at risk of falling through the cracks based on behavior, test scores and attendance.

The curriculum is customized for the individual students.

Students take an initial assessment so the software can give them instruction and assignments tailored to their skill level. It divides up the year’s work into units with daily assignments and activities.

Each day’s work takes about half an hour per subject, and at the end of the day, teacher Bryce McDonald has a “flex period” where he can work with students who need more time on an assignment while others work on enrichment activities or reading.

The early reviews have been positive. Both parents and students say they have high hopes for improved performance.

In some ways, the approach is similar to the one taken by Logansport High School in its beginning algebra classes. Students can’t take a quiz until the teacher gives them the go-ahead, and they can’t move ahead to the next section until they have mastered the previous one.

The approach also gives students the one-on-one attention they need when they’re struggling with a particular lesson. It also allows them to learn at their own pace.

It’s great that the school corporation has been able to develop such a class. Assuming the new classroom produces the expected results, this is an approach other school corporations might want to copy.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • CEPEDA: What are students to eat now Remember last year’s hysteria over school lunches? Administrators, cafeteria workers, students and parents across the country freaked out when — gasp! — school lunches were made healthier.News reports throughout the 2012-13 school year — when lunch s

    July 27, 2014

  • HOWEY: Rising up to meet Putin’s thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 27, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Congress scolded for its failures Retired Congressman Lee Hamilton has warned of the perils of political ideology, calling the body where he spent 34 years “noxiously partisan.” Now, he worries the divide is downright dangerous. A co-chairman of the 9/11 Commission, Hamilton and fell

    July 27, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: Letters for Sunday, July 27, 2014 Residents want to see development pactI’ve been attending the Utility Service Board monthly meetings for the past several months to better understand the ongoing plans for first Pyrolyzer and now a purchase agreement with Total Concept Solutions.Thre

    July 27, 2014

  • DORAN: How to handle the pool problem By Terry DoranGuest columnistAs a longtime board member of the parks board and having grown up nearby, it troubles me to read of the decision to close the city pool at Tower Park. This is obviously not a new discussion. I sat in on many meetings with

    July 27, 2014

  • WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 25, 2014

  • FREY: Hero pilot still on a mission to save lives Ordinary people who live their lives, do something spectacular one day, and then embrace a great cause after retirement are tops in my book.Chesley “Sully” Sullenberger III is such an individual. He is the pilot who safely landed a US Airways airplan

    July 25, 2014

  • HAMILTON: Why incumbents keep getting reelected It’s no news that Congress is unpopular. In fact, at times it seems like the only real novelty on Capitol Hill would be a jump in its approval rating. In June, a Gallup poll found members’ standing with the American people at a historic low for a mid

    July 24, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Write clear rules for vanity plate licenses We see vanity license plates regularly. Some are funny or thought-provoking. Others are just plain puzzling.One specialty plate backing autism research and support carries the heartfelt message “4MYSON.” Others are more prosaic, as in COLTFANZ.It’s c

    July 24, 2014

  • WILLIAMS: Four-legged family I have three pets. First, Paisley, a long-haired cream and tortoise Ragdoll cat. She’s the aristocracy in our group, compared to the rest of us, who are all blue collar folks. Her movements are slow and stately and her mien is gracious. She is by far

    July 24, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should grocery and convenience stores be allowed to sell cold beer?

Yes
No
Unsure
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.