Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

September 21, 2012

Program aims to keep students on track

The issue: Caston Elementary School has added a new program for fifth- and sixth-grade students who had been performing below expectations.

Our view: The program has the potential of becoming a model for other schoolcorporations.

Caston Elementary School has introduced an experimental classroom it hopes will help struggling students stay focused on learning while they’re working on a computer.

The Learning Opportunity Center is designed for fifth- and sixth-grade students who were not succeeding at the level teachers thought they could.

It’s aimed at kids whose minds sometimes wander in a standard classroom, youngsters who might have their attention diverted by something outside the window or out in the hall.

This special classroom is set up to keep students focused. It’s equipped with 15 MacBook Air  laptops — two for a teacher and an aide and 13 for students — and its curriculum is drawn entirely from an interactive digital learning system called OdysseyWare.

The school’s federal Title I funding more than tripled this year to $299,000. Nearly a third of that went toward buying equipment and paying teacher salaries for the Learning Opportunity Center.

In selecting students for the new classroom, the staff tried to identify children at risk of falling through the cracks based on behavior, test scores and attendance.

The curriculum is customized for the individual students.

Students take an initial assessment so the software can give them instruction and assignments tailored to their skill level. It divides up the year’s work into units with daily assignments and activities.

Each day’s work takes about half an hour per subject, and at the end of the day, teacher Bryce McDonald has a “flex period” where he can work with students who need more time on an assignment while others work on enrichment activities or reading.

The early reviews have been positive. Both parents and students say they have high hopes for improved performance.

In some ways, the approach is similar to the one taken by Logansport High School in its beginning algebra classes. Students can’t take a quiz until the teacher gives them the go-ahead, and they can’t move ahead to the next section until they have mastered the previous one.

The approach also gives students the one-on-one attention they need when they’re struggling with a particular lesson. It also allows them to learn at their own pace.

It’s great that the school corporation has been able to develop such a class. Assuming the new classroom produces the expected results, this is an approach other school corporations might want to copy.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • THEIR VIEW: Careful look at tax structure needed Indiana legislators this year created a "blue-ribbon commission" to study the state's taxes on businesses this summer. We hope the commission will listen to Larry DeBoer, a Purdue professor who might understand Indiana's tax structure better than any

    April 20, 2014

  • KNISELY: Adventures in cat spaying If you're a regular reader of this column, you know I have a cat. I got the cat to deal with the mice. Even if you only pop in on this column from time to time, you still likely know I have mice and that I hate them. I complain about it quite regular

    April 20, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: Letters for Sunday, April 20, 2014 Power forum hopes to answer questions Do you pay electric bills? Then you are invited to learn how Public Power can often lower electric rates. Logansport's coal firing plant must be shut down within two years, and our contract with Duke expires in f

    April 20, 2014

  • GUTWEIN: Strengthening Indiana for Hoosier veterans America's legacy was built on the foundation created by our brave service men and women. Whether they defended our nation's borders overseas or assisted Hoosiers during the harsh winter months, we need to do everything we can to make Indiana the best

    April 20, 2014

  • CEPEDA: Baseball's sacred temple Call it a character defect, but I don't like baseball. And I especially don't like the Chicago Cubs -- losers I never found lovable. I grew up less than a mile west of Wrigley Field and games there represented summer-long inconveniences such as midda

    April 20, 2014

  • HOWEY: Doctors Brown and Bucshon become seekers Seated across the table from me at Cafe Patachou were Drs. Tim Brown and Larry Bucshon. Dr. Bucshon was a heart surgeon from Newburgh. Dr. Brown is an emergency room physician from Crawfordsville. What made this breakfast meeting extraordinary is tha

    April 20, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Littering shows disregard for surroundings Numbers tell a sad story about the disregard many Hoosiers have for their surroundings. Too many in Indiana don't care enough about the environment to prevent them from cluttering the countryside by carelessly tossing litter along the side of roadway

    April 18, 2014

  • WOLFSIE: High-tech got you down? I love where I bank. It's a branch inside of a big supermarket. I can make a modest withdrawal and then go and blow every last penny in the cookie aisle. The tellers at the window appreciate me. They know about my obsession with round numbers and und

    April 18, 2014

  • PETERS: Grizzly bear may help human medicine I've gained 5 pounds since last summer. My body mass index (BMI) is still fine, but I need to stop gaining to keep it that way. Grizzly bears put my weight gain to shame. In the late summer, they eat some 50,000 calories per day and gain more than 1

    April 18, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Lawmakers fail to act on the issue After several years of fretting over Indiana's ongoing methamphetamine problem, the Indiana General Assembly continues to struggle for a solution. The issue seems to come up every session, given that Indiana leader the nation in meth lab seizures. Bu

    April 17, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should mushroom hunters be allowed to forage off-trail in Indiana state parks?

Yes
No
Undecided
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.