Pharos-Tribune

Breaking News

Opinion

December 20, 2013

OUR VIEW: Leaving a legacy in Logansport

Three pages.

That’s what we received when we asked for a list of the organizations and projects that Kathy Dingo was involved in.

Three pages.

If ever an absence will be felt by an entire city, it will be that of Kathy Dingo. The longtime downtown advocate died Wednesday at the age of 64.

Her legacy won’t stay within the confines of those three pages. Yes, she served on numerous committees, spearheaded countless projects and chaired more events than we’d care to count — but all that pales in comparison to what really defines Dingo’s legacy in Logansport.

She wasn’t afraid to get dirty in her quest to make Logansport a better city. She didn’t just dream up ideas for ways to make our community a better place to live. She dug down into the dirt and made it happen. She planted pink petunias to brighten downtown streets. She scraped, shoveled and sweated on Live United Day. She cared with her whole heart and her whole body.

When she saw a need in Logansport, she was determined to fix it. There was too much asphalt in downtown and not enough green, so Dingo set out to establish several “pocket parks.”

There were too many façades in disrepair in downtown, so she devoted herself to Logan’s Landing and made beautifying downtown a reality.

Flipping through the three pages of notes on her accomplishments and volunteer efforts, you see she made her mark all across Logansport — Cole Park, McHale Complex, Tri Kappa, Cass County Historical Preservation Foundation, Taste of Cass County, Strawberry Festival, Art on the Avenue. And that’s barely scratching the surface.

While we’re saddened by her passing, we’re left inspired by the life she lived. She devoted her time on this Earth to something bigger than herself. She was living proof that one person can truly make a difference in the world.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Sandra Stotsky STOTSKY: The next step redux in education standards Writing at National Review Online, Rick Hess and Mike McShane of the American Enterprise Institute make the complaint that critics of Common Core have not come up with the next steps to "repeal and replace" for states that want to restore academic in

    April 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • WILLIAMS: Get out on the highway My son's truck is in the shop and my friend, Jan, was in the hospital so I had her truck in order to be able to go feed her cats while John used my car to go to work. Jan and I both purchased vehicles before we retired that we hoped would be the last

    April 24, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Indiana needs open primary elections Indiana's primary election system is dysfunctional. What the state really needs is an open primary system. This month, the Lake County election board argued about the procedures for recruiting high school students as poll workers for the May 6 primar

    April 23, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Tax bills show what smoke & mirrors don't There's a price to be paid for the decline in what we call civic engagement -- and local property taxpayers are paying that price. In case you haven't received your 2014 Cass County property tax statement yet, be prepared for a bit of sticker shock w

    April 23, 2014

  • MARCUS: Illinois brings joy to Indiana From the email this week, I sensed a profound need by Hoosiers to find joy in the problems of Illinois. Our neighbors to the west are fighting their way through a mess of their own making. They have forced themselves to raise taxes and cut services t

    April 22, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Let voters weigh option of easing daily commute There was a time in this country when workers typically lived less than an hour's walk from their jobs. A time when a "commuter" was simply a traveler taking advantage of a reduced railway fare on his way to the big city. A time when the American sub

    April 22, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: Wait a minute here — what did I just sign? When Dr. Sam said, "You've got the prostate of a 16-year-old," it was hard to keep from beaming. This must be how a woman feels when a complete stranger tells her she has a beautiful baby. Well, maybe not quite. Still, it was hard not to feel proud o

    April 22, 2014

  • LYONS: How we devalued the 'R' word At the risk of angering somebody like MSNBC's Melissa Harris-Perry, I sometimes used to joke that I only look white. Actually, I'm Irish. Meaning basically that I wasn't raised to think the man in the big house had all the answers, nor deserved all t

    April 21, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards. That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation

    April 21, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Careful look at tax structure needed Indiana legislators this year created a "blue-ribbon commission" to study the state's taxes on businesses this summer. We hope the commission will listen to Larry DeBoer, a Purdue professor who might understand Indiana's tax structure better than any

    April 20, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should mushroom hunters be allowed to forage off-trail in Indiana state parks?

Yes
No
Undecided
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.