Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

December 22, 2013

McALISTER: Increased to liquor access not needed

I am a homegrown Hoosier businessman. The state of Indiana has granted me the privilege, and the responsibility, of selling alcohol. My company, Big Red Liquors, is dedicated to the principal of selling alcohol, a controlled substance, legally and responsibly. We take that responsibility very seriously because we know that when alcohol is sold illegally or irresponsibly, individuals, families, businesses and communities can be devastated.

My stores understand our responsibility to the customers and communities we serve. We support the great law enforcement professionals who protect us every day. This fall we donated a K-9 unit to the Indianapolis Police Department so they could continue to be well-equipped to do their duty. We have stepped forward to help Sen. Jim Merritt promote Indiana’s Lifeline Law by producing posters and bottle neck tags that encourage Hoosiers to make a call to save a life. We will not do business with Hoosiers under age 21, but we will do everything we can to prevent the kinds of tragedies that underage drinking too often leads to.

There are significant challenges facing Hoosiers every day. Too many Hoosiers are struggling to find work; crime and violence scar our cities and towns. But instead of asking Indiana’s legislators to focus on those issues, today there is a renewed push by multi-national retailers to redefine Indiana’s alcohol laws. Large retailers are asking the legislature to allow them to sell alcohol on Sundays. They are suing the state for the privilege of selling refrigerated beer. They are convinced that more access to alcohol is appropriate public policy.

They are wrong.

There is no denying the fact that increasing access to alcohol increases the chances that alcohol will be abused. Forty years of studies demonstrate that even a moderate increase in the availability of and access to alcohol lead to increased consumption and abuse. Today, Indiana law allows alcohol to be sold from 7 a.m. to 3 a.m. six days a week. That means Hoosiers can go into a store and buy alcohol 72 percent of the time during a seven-day week. To those who insist that we must sell on Sundays, I ask – how much access is enough?

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • CEPEDA: What are students to eat now Remember last year’s hysteria over school lunches? Administrators, cafeteria workers, students and parents across the country freaked out when — gasp! — school lunches were made healthier.News reports throughout the 2012-13 school year — when lunch s

    July 27, 2014

  • HOWEY: Rising up to meet Putin’s thuggery Any illusions I had about the progressive nature of Vladimir Putin’s Russian regime quickly dissipated when I returned to my Moscow Grand Marriott room in August 2007. Upon opening the door, I was greeted with the spectacle of my papers and note pads

    July 27, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Congress scolded for its failures Retired Congressman Lee Hamilton has warned of the perils of political ideology, calling the body where he spent 34 years “noxiously partisan.” Now, he worries the divide is downright dangerous. A co-chairman of the 9/11 Commission, Hamilton and fell

    July 27, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: Letters for Sunday, July 27, 2014 Residents want to see development pactI’ve been attending the Utility Service Board monthly meetings for the past several months to better understand the ongoing plans for first Pyrolyzer and now a purchase agreement with Total Concept Solutions.Thre

    July 27, 2014

  • DORAN: How to handle the pool problem By Terry DoranGuest columnistAs a longtime board member of the parks board and having grown up nearby, it troubles me to read of the decision to close the city pool at Tower Park. This is obviously not a new discussion. I sat in on many meetings with

    July 27, 2014

  • WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 25, 2014

  • FREY: Hero pilot still on a mission to save lives Ordinary people who live their lives, do something spectacular one day, and then embrace a great cause after retirement are tops in my book.Chesley “Sully” Sullenberger III is such an individual. He is the pilot who safely landed a US Airways airplan

    July 25, 2014

  • HAMILTON: Why incumbents keep getting reelected It’s no news that Congress is unpopular. In fact, at times it seems like the only real novelty on Capitol Hill would be a jump in its approval rating. In June, a Gallup poll found members’ standing with the American people at a historic low for a mid

    July 24, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Write clear rules for vanity plate licenses We see vanity license plates regularly. Some are funny or thought-provoking. Others are just plain puzzling.One specialty plate backing autism research and support carries the heartfelt message “4MYSON.” Others are more prosaic, as in COLTFANZ.It’s c

    July 24, 2014

  • WILLIAMS: Four-legged family I have three pets. First, Paisley, a long-haired cream and tortoise Ragdoll cat. She’s the aristocracy in our group, compared to the rest of us, who are all blue collar folks. Her movements are slow and stately and her mien is gracious. She is by far

    July 24, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should grocery and convenience stores be allowed to sell cold beer?

Yes
No
Unsure
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.