Pharos-Tribune

Breaking News

Opinion

December 13, 2013

THEIR VIEW: Legislators should replace tax revenue

The top priority of Gov. Mike Pence and the Republican super majority in the Indiana Statehouse for the 2014 short session has been proclaimed. The state’s GOP will fight for a major tax cut, specifically the elimination of the business personal property tax that accounts for nearly $1 billion in revenue for local governments.

Business personal property is calculated based on the value of business equipment and can range from desk and chairs to heavy machinery. According to state figures, about 16 percent of state property taxes collected come from personal property.

Republican lawmakers argue that the elimination of the personal property tax would help the state compete for new business. They point to other states, including Illinois, that have eliminated the tax. Those entrusted by the public to manage cities and school corporations, however, say the cut would devastate communities still stinging from property tax caps voted into the Indiana Constitution several years ago.

“We’re still discovering the consequences of the tax caps,” Goshen Mayor Allan Kauffman told CNHI Statehouse reporter Maureen Hayden last week after a gathering of Indiana mayors in Indianapolis. “Now they want to throw another disaster at us.”

It’s estimated that Goshen and other local governments units in Elkhart County would lose more than $7.5 million a year in revenue if the tax was repealed.

We are grateful that Kauffman, a Democrat, and the Republican majority City Council have worked together to make the city’s ends meet. It hasn’t been easy and there are still differences in philosophy, but even with the challenge of tax caps Goshen has survived without having to compromise services. If personal property tax is eliminated we worry if that can continue.

Goshen has also made great strides in improving quality of life here. We understand the position of the Statehouse Republicans and their effort to repeal the personal property tax, but we urge them to establish a plan to replenish that public revenue with additional streams. Otherwise, the positive momentum in places like Goshen will come to a screeching halt.

— The Goshen News

THE ISSUE The state's GOP will fight for a major tax cut that accounts for nearly $1 billion in revenue for local governments. THEIR VIEW Statehouse Republicans should find a way to replace the lost revenue -- otherwise, positive momentum in Indiana's cities will come to a screeching halt.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 25, 2014

  • FREY: Hero pilot still on a mission to save lives Ordinary people who live their lives, do something spectacular one day, and then embrace a great cause after retirement are tops in my book.Chesley “Sully” Sullenberger III is such an individual. He is the pilot who safely landed a US Airways airplan

    July 25, 2014

  • HAMILTON: Why incumbents keep getting reelected It’s no news that Congress is unpopular. In fact, at times it seems like the only real novelty on Capitol Hill would be a jump in its approval rating. In June, a Gallup poll found members’ standing with the American people at a historic low for a mid

    July 24, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Write clear rules for vanity plate licenses We see vanity license plates regularly. Some are funny or thought-provoking. Others are just plain puzzling.One specialty plate backing autism research and support carries the heartfelt message “4MYSON.” Others are more prosaic, as in COLTFANZ.It’s c

    July 24, 2014

  • WILLIAMS: Four-legged family I have three pets. First, Paisley, a long-haired cream and tortoise Ragdoll cat. She’s the aristocracy in our group, compared to the rest of us, who are all blue collar folks. Her movements are slow and stately and her mien is gracious. She is by far

    July 24, 2014

  • Holly Sklar SKLAR: Small businesses want minimum wage increase If Congress actually listened to small business owners, the minimum wage would be going up. Instead, July 24 will mark five years without an increase since the federal minimum wage was set at $7.25 an hour in 2009.Small business livelihoods depend on

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • KITCHELL: Reaction times change, but motorists don't Earlier this year, I came home one afternoon to find the worst accident on North Street I can ever recall.A bevy of police cars and four flatbed trucks were removing the pawns in an accident that damaged four vehicles. It was a bit unusual considerin

    July 23, 2014

  • OUR VIEW: Keeping insects under control curbs disease State health officials said last week mosquitoes in two northern Indiana counties tested positive for the West Nile virus, The Associated Press reported.The state health department said mosquitoes in Marshall and Pike counties were confirmed to have

    July 23, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Indiana's ethics laws in need of reform The Indiana State Ethics Commission’s recent approval of an agreement between the state inspector general and Tony Bennett settles the charges against the former state superintendent of schools.But the settlement raises more concerns about the loopho

    July 22, 2014

  • MARCUS: Tax simplification is no simple matter The governor and his select invitees to his closed tax conference last month praised simplifying Indiana’s tax code. It is an idea better loved by Americans than baseball, apple, pie or motherhood.There is no question that our national and state tax

    July 22, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

The Pence administration continues to cut Indiana agency budgets despite a state surplus of $2 billion. Is this wise management of state funds?

Yes
No
Not sure
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Gaza Residents Mourn Dead Amid Airstrikes Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp Cumberbatch Brings 'Penguins' to Comic-Con Raw: Air Algerie Crash Site in Mali Power to Be Restored After Wash. Wildfire Crashed Air Algerie Plane Found in Mali Israel Mulls Ceasefire Amid Gaza Offensive In Case of Fire, Oxygen Masks for Pets Mobile App Gives Tour of Battle of Atlanta Sites Anti-violence Advocate Killed, but Not Silenced. Dempsey: Putin May Light Fire and Lose Control Arizona Prison Chief: Execution Wasn't Botched Calif. Police Investigate Peacock Shooting Death Raw: Protesters, Soldiers Clash in West Bank Police: Doctor Who Shot Gunman 'Saved Lives' 'Modern Family' Star on Gay Athletes Coming Out MN Twins Debut Beer Vending Machine DA: Pa. Doctor Fired Back at Hospital Gunman
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.