Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

March 28, 2013

OUR VIEW: A miracle for a miracle child

Turning 15 years old is about the time teenagers really start dreaming about getting a car.

A car means freedom. It means independence. And, let’s face it, it means getting out of the house by yourself and finally doing your own thing.

But Alexandra Darland doesn’t live the life of a typical teenager. In fact, Alexandra is lucky to be a teenager. She’s a living miracle.

When she was born premature at 26 weeks and weighing just 3 pounds, doctors said she didn’t have a fighting chance. Not only was she born so small, as her life continued, the odds continued stacking against her. She was diagnosed with cerebral palsy, scoliosis and hydrocephalus, a condition in which an abnormal amount of fluid accumulates in brain cavities. She is also mostly blind and suffers from seizures and contractures, the permanent shortening of muscles and joints.

As you can imagine, life has not been easy for Alexandra and her family. She requires total care. Her parents lift her in and out of her wheelchair, bathe her and feed her using a gastric feeding tube.

At under 4 feet tall, she has a special car seat. She has outgrown it. Not bad for a girl told she wouldn’t make it. While her continued growth is great news, it causes a major problem for the family.

What they need is a wheelchair-accessible van. If you think that doesn’t sound cheap, you’d be right. It’s not. It could cost up to $40,000. Like most families, they don’t have that kind of money.

It might be expensive, but it’s not a luxury. It’s a necessity. Most children in Alexandra’s situation eventually have to leave home to live in a professional care center. That’s something the family is trying to avoid for as long as possible.

And to make that happen, the family has entered a nationwide contest hosted by the National Mobility Equipment Dealers Association to win a custom wheelchair-accessible vehicle. We, as individuals and as a community, can help them win the contest and secure Alexandra’s place at home. You can vote online once a day until May 10. Visit mobilityawarenessmonth.com, clicking “Enter or Vote Now” and searching for Alexandra Darland in Logansport.

In today’s society, families so easily break apart. But now we find ourselves with the rare chance to keep a family together. Let’s take it.

Take the time as often as possible to vote for Alexandra. If we all pull together, we can be part of another miracle in her life.

How to vote:

Vote to help Alexandra Darland win a

wheelchair-accessible vehicle by visiting

www.mobilityawarenessmonth.com, clicking

“Enter or Vote Now” and searching for

Alexandra Darland in Logansport.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • WOLFSIE: A trip to end all trips My wife is planning a very exciting vacation to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. This was a big surprise to me. Not the vacation part, but the 35 years. I thought it was 34. Right now she is on the back porch, the patio table stacked high with

    July 25, 2014

  • FREY: Hero pilot still on a mission to save lives Ordinary people who live their lives, do something spectacular one day, and then embrace a great cause after retirement are tops in my book.Chesley “Sully” Sullenberger III is such an individual. He is the pilot who safely landed a US Airways airplan

    July 25, 2014

  • HAMILTON: Why incumbents keep getting reelected It’s no news that Congress is unpopular. In fact, at times it seems like the only real novelty on Capitol Hill would be a jump in its approval rating. In June, a Gallup poll found members’ standing with the American people at a historic low for a mid

    July 24, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Write clear rules for vanity plate licenses We see vanity license plates regularly. Some are funny or thought-provoking. Others are just plain puzzling.One specialty plate backing autism research and support carries the heartfelt message “4MYSON.” Others are more prosaic, as in COLTFANZ.It’s c

    July 24, 2014

  • WILLIAMS: Four-legged family I have three pets. First, Paisley, a long-haired cream and tortoise Ragdoll cat. She’s the aristocracy in our group, compared to the rest of us, who are all blue collar folks. Her movements are slow and stately and her mien is gracious. She is by far

    July 24, 2014

  • Holly Sklar SKLAR: Small businesses want minimum wage increase If Congress actually listened to small business owners, the minimum wage would be going up. Instead, July 24 will mark five years without an increase since the federal minimum wage was set at $7.25 an hour in 2009.Small business livelihoods depend on

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • KITCHELL: Reaction times change, but motorists don't Earlier this year, I came home one afternoon to find the worst accident on North Street I can ever recall.A bevy of police cars and four flatbed trucks were removing the pawns in an accident that damaged four vehicles. It was a bit unusual considerin

    July 23, 2014

  • OUR VIEW: Keeping insects under control curbs disease State health officials said last week mosquitoes in two northern Indiana counties tested positive for the West Nile virus, The Associated Press reported.The state health department said mosquitoes in Marshall and Pike counties were confirmed to have

    July 23, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Indiana's ethics laws in need of reform The Indiana State Ethics Commission’s recent approval of an agreement between the state inspector general and Tony Bennett settles the charges against the former state superintendent of schools.But the settlement raises more concerns about the loopho

    July 22, 2014

  • MARCUS: Tax simplification is no simple matter The governor and his select invitees to his closed tax conference last month praised simplifying Indiana’s tax code. It is an idea better loved by Americans than baseball, apple, pie or motherhood.There is no question that our national and state tax

    July 22, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

The Pence administration continues to cut Indiana agency budgets despite a state surplus of $2 billion. Is this wise management of state funds?

Yes
No
Not sure
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Crashed Air Algerie Plane Found in Mali Israel Mulls Ceasefire Amid Gaza Offensive In Case of Fire, Oxygen Masks for Pets Mobile App Gives Tour of Battle of Atlanta Sites Anti-violence Advocate Killed, but Not Silenced. Dempsey: Putin May Light Fire and Lose Control Arizona Prison Chief: Execution Wasn't Botched Calif. Police Investigate Peacock Shooting Death Raw: Protesters, Soldiers Clash in West Bank Police: Doctor Who Shot Gunman 'Saved Lives' 'Modern Family' Star on Gay Athletes Coming Out MN Twins Debut Beer Vending Machine DA: Pa. Doctor Fired Back at Hospital Gunman Raw: Iowa Police Dash Cam Shows Wild Chase Obama Seeks Limits on US Company Mergers Abroad Large Family to Share NJ Lottery Winnings U.S. Flights to Israel Resume After Ban Lifted Official: Air Algerie Flight 'probably Crashed' TSA Administrator on Politics and Flight Bans Raw: National Guard Helps Battle WA Wildfires
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.