Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

October 12, 2012

Thorns & Roses

Roses

•To the two Logansport firefighters who were recognized this week for saving a seven-month-old baby who was choking. The department received a call on Sept. 22 about a baby with something obstructing its airway. Firefighters Matt Harris and Jim Stotler responded to the call, and Stotler managed to dislodge the item using back thrusts. Stotler said Wednesday there was some bleeding where the ring had been, but the baby was fine. Logansport Mayor Ted Franklin presented both men with certificates. Stotler said it was merely chance that he and Harris were the ones being honored. “Every single guy here would have done the same thing,” he said.

• To all the participants in the 21st annual Great Grown-up Spelling Bee. The team from Columbia Middle School won the event, while Steinberger  Construction took second place and Calvary Presbyterian took third. Pioneer Schools, known as the Spellbinders, won the Spirit Award. But all 17 teams and all of the other volunteers contributed to the atmosphere, and best of all, the event raised about $2,000 for Literacy Volunteers of Cass County.

• To six-year-old Aspen Cozzello, the daughter of Anthony Cozzello, the lead pastor at Revolution Community Church. Aspen saw a video depicting 32-year-old Joe Robison’s battle with cancer, and she decided she wanted to help. When he got home one evening, her dad said, Aspen told him she wanted to have a lemonade stand. He made the lemonade, and Aspen made the sign. She sat at the lemonade stand for three hours and made a total of $76, even moving the stand once to get to a spot with more traffic. Robison’s mother, Donna, said it brought tears to her eyes when the Cozzellos delivered the money. “Seeing this little girl, at 6 years old, do something that wonderful, tore us all apart,” she said. “Aspen has a heart of gold, and Anthony should be proud.” Sadly, Robison died Monday, the day after a story about Aspen’s gesture appeared in the Pharos-Tribune.

• To the organizers of last weekend’s inaugural Pumpkin Run for Autism. Despite the colder weather, nearly 200 people attended the event to watch  participants race decorated pumpkins down a hill at Bishop Park. The event this year was in honor of Nicole “Niki” Savini, one of the event’s main organizers who died in a traffic accident last month.

• To Morgan Mills, who raised $11,000 as a 2012 bachelorette for the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation Indiana Chapter. Mills, a 2007 Logansport High School graduate, was one of 30 bachelor and bachelorette honorees. “It is very rewarding to be part of this amazing program with some of the most professional, active and energetic young professionals working toward the same goal,” Mills said. “It’s truly an honor to be able to help raise awareness for something that I am so passionate about.”

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Sandra Stotsky STOTSKY: The next step redux in education standards Writing at National Review Online, Rick Hess and Mike McShane of the American Enterprise Institute make the complaint that critics of Common Core have not come up with the next steps to "repeal and replace" for states that want to restore academic in

    April 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • WILLIAMS: Get out on the highway My son's truck is in the shop and my friend, Jan, was in the hospital so I had her truck in order to be able to go feed her cats while John used my car to go to work. Jan and I both purchased vehicles before we retired that we hoped would be the last

    April 24, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Indiana needs open primary elections Indiana's primary election system is dysfunctional. What the state really needs is an open primary system. This month, the Lake County election board argued about the procedures for recruiting high school students as poll workers for the May 6 primar

    April 23, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Tax bills show what smoke & mirrors don't There's a price to be paid for the decline in what we call civic engagement -- and local property taxpayers are paying that price. In case you haven't received your 2014 Cass County property tax statement yet, be prepared for a bit of sticker shock w

    April 23, 2014

  • MARCUS: Illinois brings joy to Indiana From the email this week, I sensed a profound need by Hoosiers to find joy in the problems of Illinois. Our neighbors to the west are fighting their way through a mess of their own making. They have forced themselves to raise taxes and cut services t

    April 22, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Let voters weigh option of easing daily commute There was a time in this country when workers typically lived less than an hour's walk from their jobs. A time when a "commuter" was simply a traveler taking advantage of a reduced railway fare on his way to the big city. A time when the American sub

    April 22, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: Wait a minute here — what did I just sign? When Dr. Sam said, "You've got the prostate of a 16-year-old," it was hard to keep from beaming. This must be how a woman feels when a complete stranger tells her she has a beautiful baby. Well, maybe not quite. Still, it was hard not to feel proud o

    April 22, 2014

  • LYONS: How we devalued the 'R' word At the risk of angering somebody like MSNBC's Melissa Harris-Perry, I sometimes used to joke that I only look white. Actually, I'm Irish. Meaning basically that I wasn't raised to think the man in the big house had all the answers, nor deserved all t

    April 21, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards. That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation

    April 21, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Careful look at tax structure needed Indiana legislators this year created a "blue-ribbon commission" to study the state's taxes on businesses this summer. We hope the commission will listen to Larry DeBoer, a Purdue professor who might understand Indiana's tax structure better than any

    April 20, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should mushroom hunters be allowed to forage off-trail in Indiana state parks?

Yes
No
Undecided
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
SKorea Ferry Toll Hits 156, Search Gets Tougher Video Shows Possible Syrian Gas Attack Cubs Superfans Celebrate Wrigley's 100th Raw: Cattle Truck Overturns in Texas Admirers Flock to Dole During Kansas Homecoming Raw: Erupting Volcanoes in Guatemala and Peru Alibaba IPO Could Be Largest Ever for Tech Firm FBI Joining Probe of Suburban NY 'Swatting' Call U.S. Paratroopers in Poland, Amid Ukraine Crisis US Reviews Clemency for Certain Inmates Raw: Violence Erupts in Rio Near Olympic Venue Raw: Deadly Bombing in Egypt Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Raw: Obama Arrives in Japan for State Visit Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.