Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

February 11, 2014

VILLAGE IDIOT: And the loser is ... all of us

Do you recognize the names Guy Perillat and Milorad Cavic? They came in second to Olympic gold medalists Jean-Claude Killy and Michael Phelps, respectively, each by a single hundredth of second. Or as it’s called in the real world, a tie.

If the time clock was measured in tenths of a second, or even fiftieths of a second, Killy and Perillat would have tied in the 1968 Winter Games. They both would have received gold medals and become darlings of the ‘60s jet set. Phelps and Cavic might both be starring in Subway commercials if they had tied in the 100-meter butterfly in London in 2012. Instead, Cavic lost by 0.01 of a second.

By contrast, Usain Bolt won the gold in London by beating Yohan Blake in the 100-meter sprint by just over one-tenth of a second, and even to the untrained eye, it was an obvious victory. It wasn’t even close. You could see who won easily, without debate, no photo finish required.

There are a great many good things about keeping hyper-accurate time. It’s good for training and it’s good for the record books. But in competitions, hypersensitive timekeeping makes being 0.01 of a second behind the “winner” somewhat like being a Soviet politician in the Cold War who falls out of favor. You’re removed from the history books; your name is never spoken again. You become a nonperson.

Sports seems to be one of the few human endeavors that hates a tie — someone has to win. Why? A lot of people would go to a movie that starred Julia Roberts or Meryl Streep. But they would also go to a movie that starred Julia Roberts and Meryl Streep. They’re both winners. There is no second place. In show business, there are lots of winners; hundreds of stars can walk down the red carpet at the Academy Awards and they’ll all get the over-the-top celebrity treatment. But if gold and silver Olympians walk into an event, the silver medalist may as well be in the witness protection program for all the attention he won’t get. He’ll never see his face on a Cheerios box; he won’t be in TV ads; he won’t get as many sponsors.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • THEIR VIEW: Littering shows disregard for surroundings Numbers tell a sad story about the disregard many Hoosiers have for their surroundings. Too many in Indiana don't care enough about the environment to prevent them from cluttering the countryside by carelessly tossing litter along the side of roadway

    April 18, 2014

  • WOLFSIE: High-tech got you down? I love where I bank. It's a branch inside of a big supermarket. I can make a modest withdrawal and then go and blow every last penny in the cookie aisle. The tellers at the window appreciate me. They know about my obsession with round numbers and und

    April 18, 2014

  • PETERS: Grizzly bear may help human medicine I've gained 5 pounds since last summer. My body mass index (BMI) is still fine, but I need to stop gaining to keep it that way. Grizzly bears put my weight gain to shame. In the late summer, they eat some 50,000 calories per day and gain more than 1

    April 18, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Lawmakers fail to act on the issue After several years of fretting over Indiana's ongoing methamphetamine problem, the Indiana General Assembly continues to struggle for a solution. The issue seems to come up every session, given that Indiana leader the nation in meth lab seizures. Bu

    April 17, 2014

  • WILLIAMS: Feelings of the flowers I took one of those fun tests on Facebook to see what kind of flower I am and lo and behold, it said I was an orchid! That is so wrong because I have always thought I was the exact opposite of an orchid. I'd characterize myself as a daisy. You know,

    April 17, 2014

  • HAMILTON: Government as innovator? You bet! Five years ago, the federal government spent $169 billion to fund basic research and development. This fiscal year, it's down to $134 billion. People who believe in public belt-tightening applaud drops like that. I understand why: there are many reas

    April 17, 2014

  • PARKER: It's time to take a joke, America In selecting Stephen Colbert to replace David Letterman as host of the "Late Show," CBS has waged war on America's Heartland -- or so proclaims that Palm Beach font of heartland mirth, Rush Limbaugh. Don't you believe it, Heartlanders. But wait, ther

    April 16, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Constitutional convention won't work today There seems to be a growing idea that we need a Constitutional convention. That, of course, is the other way to change the Constitution. Amendments have been used 27 times to make changes, ranging from limiting the president's term of office to the d

    April 16, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Forum about adding answers, subtracting questions A week from tonight, Logansport residents and those outside Logansport who purchase electricity from the Logansport Municipal Utilities will have a chance to find out some things for themselves. A free forum at McHale Performing Arts Center will feat

    April 16, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: The people are losing control of its government The people are losing control of government President Obama and progressive Democrats and Republicans are changing the landscape of our country by bypassing our Constitution and what our forefathers fought and gave their lives for. Their philosophy c

    April 16, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should mushroom hunters be allowed to forage off-trail in Indiana state parks?

Yes
No
Undecided
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.