Pharos-Tribune

Breaking News

Opinion

May 26, 2013

PUBLIC VIEW: Letter carriers report results of food drive

On May 11, 2013, the NALC (National Association of Letter Carriers) held its 21st annual food drive. Local NALC Branch 3232 was participating for the 18th year in the food drive and through the efforts of its members and many other volunteers, collected 14,215 pounds. The Salvation Army and the Emmaus Mission each received about 5,800 pounds of food, while the White County Food Pantry received 2,600 pounds.

I would like to thank every resident who placed a food donation by their mailbox for making these totals possible. I would like to thank Joe Offutt, owner of Offutt Motor Sales, who has been generously donating trucks each year for us to use in picking up and transporting food to the pantries. Thank you to WHZR, the Pharos-Tribune, Great Clips, Dave Kitchell, Linda Hoffman and all the local businesses that assisted us in getting the word out to the community about our food drive.

Thank you to all the city and rural letter carriers who went the extra mile, and all the family members who assisted them.

Thank you to all the volunteers who worked on the back door sorting, weighing and then loading food onto trucks for distribution to the food banks. I want to just mention a few of them by name because many of them have been volunteering for years. Danna Jones, who has been coordinating our dock volunteers for more years than I can count; Ron Gordon, Joe Schrum, Wanda Morris, Nancy Rouser, Tamara Gibbs, DaJuan Mims, Evan Jones and Jordan Foster. Youth volunteers were Eli Morris, Noah Morris, Connor Kinnaman, Brandy Selleck, Levi Meyers, Sandis Carter and Bryce Conrad.

It was truly a community food drive.

Dave Morris

Logansport

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • THEIR VIEW: Indiana needs open primary elections Indiana's primary election system is dysfunctional. What the state really needs is an open primary system. This month, the Lake County election board argued about the procedures for recruiting high school students as poll workers for the May 6 primar

    April 23, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Tax bills show what smoke & mirrors don't There's a price to be paid for the decline in what we call civic engagement -- and local property taxpayers are paying that price. In case you haven't received your 2014 Cass County property tax statement yet, be prepared for a bit of sticker shock w

    April 23, 2014

  • MARCUS: Illinois brings joy to Indiana From the email this week, I sensed a profound need by Hoosiers to find joy in the problems of Illinois. Our neighbors to the west are fighting their way through a mess of their own making. They have forced themselves to raise taxes and cut services t

    April 22, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Let voters weigh option of easing daily commute There was a time in this country when workers typically lived less than an hour's walk from their jobs. A time when a "commuter" was simply a traveler taking advantage of a reduced railway fare on his way to the big city. A time when the American sub

    April 22, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: Wait a minute here — what did I just sign? When Dr. Sam said, "You've got the prostate of a 16-year-old," it was hard to keep from beaming. This must be how a woman feels when a complete stranger tells her she has a beautiful baby. Well, maybe not quite. Still, it was hard not to feel proud o

    April 22, 2014

  • LYONS: How we devalued the 'R' word At the risk of angering somebody like MSNBC's Melissa Harris-Perry, I sometimes used to joke that I only look white. Actually, I'm Irish. Meaning basically that I wasn't raised to think the man in the big house had all the answers, nor deserved all t

    April 21, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards. That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation

    April 21, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Careful look at tax structure needed Indiana legislators this year created a "blue-ribbon commission" to study the state's taxes on businesses this summer. We hope the commission will listen to Larry DeBoer, a Purdue professor who might understand Indiana's tax structure better than any

    April 20, 2014

  • KNISELY: Adventures in cat spaying If you're a regular reader of this column, you know I have a cat. I got the cat to deal with the mice. Even if you only pop in on this column from time to time, you still likely know I have mice and that I hate them. I complain about it quite regular

    April 20, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: Letters for Sunday, April 20, 2014 Power forum hopes to answer questions Do you pay electric bills? Then you are invited to learn how Public Power can often lower electric rates. Logansport's coal firing plant must be shut down within two years, and our contract with Duke expires in f

    April 20, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should mushroom hunters be allowed to forage off-trail in Indiana state parks?

Yes
No
Undecided
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.