Pharos-Tribune

Breaking News

Opinion

October 5, 2012

OUR VIEW: Saluting this year’s Good Neighbors

In the past few days, we’ve been recognizing some of Cass County’s Good Neighbors.

These are folks who go above and beyond to help someone across town or down the street.

None seek recognition.

Gordon Southern, a retired teacher who is now director of the Walton-Tipton Township Public Library, credits his fellow Walton residents for instilling in him a volunteer spirit.

“This community has a sense of voluntarism, too, and I think that’s how I got into so many things,” he said.

Dan Farris, a Logansport police officer who sprang into action when a freak thunderstorm knocked down half of a neighbor’s large maple tree, says it was just the neighborly thing to do.

“We were all out there cutting it up, hauling it around, trying to get rid of it,” he recalled. “It’s just what we do up here. Everybody takes care of everybody else.”

Or how about Dave Mayhill, another guy who likes to keep his good deeds quiet. He credits his parents, Jim and Ruthie Mayhill, with instilling in him the spirit of a Good Neighbor.

“You do it because you want to do it,” he said. “First thing, it’s the right thing to do. It comes from my background of how I was raised by my parents. If you’re able to help someone, do it.”

And then there were Alicia and Bob Pifer, active members of Shiloh Christian Church.

Alicia credits the church with promoting a sense of voluntarism.

“It’s a church that everybody works together,” she said.

She said she and Bob simply like helping out.

“We’re just people looking for things to do,” she said.

That’s what good neighbors do.

They help out without being asked. When the pipes burst and your house is under water, Good Neighbors show up with buckets and a mop.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Sandra Stotsky STOTSKY: The next step redux in education standards Writing at National Review Online, Rick Hess and Mike McShane of the American Enterprise Institute make the complaint that critics of Common Core have not come up with the next steps to "repeal and replace" for states that want to restore academic in

    April 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • WILLIAMS: Get out on the highway My son's truck is in the shop and my friend, Jan, was in the hospital so I had her truck in order to be able to go feed her cats while John used my car to go to work. Jan and I both purchased vehicles before we retired that we hoped would be the last

    April 24, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Indiana needs open primary elections Indiana's primary election system is dysfunctional. What the state really needs is an open primary system. This month, the Lake County election board argued about the procedures for recruiting high school students as poll workers for the May 6 primar

    April 23, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Tax bills show what smoke & mirrors don't There's a price to be paid for the decline in what we call civic engagement -- and local property taxpayers are paying that price. In case you haven't received your 2014 Cass County property tax statement yet, be prepared for a bit of sticker shock w

    April 23, 2014

  • MARCUS: Illinois brings joy to Indiana From the email this week, I sensed a profound need by Hoosiers to find joy in the problems of Illinois. Our neighbors to the west are fighting their way through a mess of their own making. They have forced themselves to raise taxes and cut services t

    April 22, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Let voters weigh option of easing daily commute There was a time in this country when workers typically lived less than an hour's walk from their jobs. A time when a "commuter" was simply a traveler taking advantage of a reduced railway fare on his way to the big city. A time when the American sub

    April 22, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: Wait a minute here — what did I just sign? When Dr. Sam said, "You've got the prostate of a 16-year-old," it was hard to keep from beaming. This must be how a woman feels when a complete stranger tells her she has a beautiful baby. Well, maybe not quite. Still, it was hard not to feel proud o

    April 22, 2014

  • LYONS: How we devalued the 'R' word At the risk of angering somebody like MSNBC's Melissa Harris-Perry, I sometimes used to joke that I only look white. Actually, I'm Irish. Meaning basically that I wasn't raised to think the man in the big house had all the answers, nor deserved all t

    April 21, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards. That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation

    April 21, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Careful look at tax structure needed Indiana legislators this year created a "blue-ribbon commission" to study the state's taxes on businesses this summer. We hope the commission will listen to Larry DeBoer, a Purdue professor who might understand Indiana's tax structure better than any

    April 20, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should mushroom hunters be allowed to forage off-trail in Indiana state parks?

Yes
No
Undecided
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.