Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

April 17, 2013

GUTWEIN: Keeping Ind. as a crossroads

As I meet with my constituents across my district, I spend a considerable amount of time on the road. Having grown up in Northwest Indiana, I know the conditions they are in like the back on my hand and understand that they are overdue for repair.

Hoosiers and visitors alike rely upon our transportation infrastructure. It allows shipments to reach factories on time, employees to arrive at work safely and ensures that my family’s Gutwein popcorn finds its way to hungry Hoosiers. Playing a substantial role in every Hoosier’s life, our local roads and highways require a tremendous amount of funding to restore and maintain them.

It is said that “roads lead to jobs,” and I believe Indiana’s economic well-being rests on the condition of our transportation system. Many of our recent jobs announcements, like Chrysler expanding in Kokomo, are attributed to the strength of our infrastructure. Employers consider the access to different modes of transportation in moving goods and services as a top priority. Indiana has done an excellent job attracting companies because of its transportation system and geographical location to other major markets. We are the Crossroads of America, and we need to build on this reputation by continuing to invest in our roads and bridges.

The House has set one of its priorities in repairing and constructing our local and state roads and bridges. This is evident in House Bill 1001, the state’s budget for 2014-15. All under the umbrella of conservative, fiscal management and living within our means, the budget protects taxpayers, restores funding for education and strengthens our state’s infrastructure. The House Ways and Means team has put in countless hours of work hearing public testimony in an effort to craft an honestly balanced budget proposal.

Members of Ways and Means discovered a way to open up $140 million annually for road repair and maintenance. This was done by removing “off-the-top” expenses from the Motor Vehicle Highway Account (MVHA), which funds INDOT projects. As prices for gas continue to rise and more fuel-efficient cars are made, people are spending less time at the pump. When this occurs, Indiana’s gas tax revenue, which assists in funding the MVHA, has steadily declined.

To counter this, the House’s budget will dedicate 20 percent of the state gas tax to the MVHA, resulting in an estimated $110 million funding increase. These two concepts permanently increase road and bridge funding by $250 million annually which will assist in the upkeep of our transportation infrastructure.

The House’s budget funds Hoosier priorities: education, transportation and public safety. I support these priorities as we seek to improve the livelihood of all Hoosiers.

State Rep. Douglas Gutwein is a Republican serving House District 16, which consists of large portions of Newton, Jasper and Pulaski counties and a small section of Starke County in northwestern Indiana.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • LYONS: How we devalued the 'R' word At the risk of angering somebody like MSNBC's Melissa Harris-Perry, I sometimes used to joke that I only look white. Actually, I'm Irish. Meaning basically that I wasn't raised to think the man in the big house had all the answers, nor deserved all t

    April 21, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards. That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation

    April 21, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Careful look at tax structure needed Indiana legislators this year created a "blue-ribbon commission" to study the state's taxes on businesses this summer. We hope the commission will listen to Larry DeBoer, a Purdue professor who might understand Indiana's tax structure better than any

    April 20, 2014

  • KNISELY: Adventures in cat spaying If you're a regular reader of this column, you know I have a cat. I got the cat to deal with the mice. Even if you only pop in on this column from time to time, you still likely know I have mice and that I hate them. I complain about it quite regular

    April 20, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: Letters for Sunday, April 20, 2014 Power forum hopes to answer questions Do you pay electric bills? Then you are invited to learn how Public Power can often lower electric rates. Logansport's coal firing plant must be shut down within two years, and our contract with Duke expires in f

    April 20, 2014

  • GUTWEIN: Strengthening Indiana for Hoosier veterans America's legacy was built on the foundation created by our brave service men and women. Whether they defended our nation's borders overseas or assisted Hoosiers during the harsh winter months, we need to do everything we can to make Indiana the best

    April 20, 2014

  • CEPEDA: Baseball's sacred temple Call it a character defect, but I don't like baseball. And I especially don't like the Chicago Cubs -- losers I never found lovable. I grew up less than a mile west of Wrigley Field and games there represented summer-long inconveniences such as midda

    April 20, 2014

  • HOWEY: Doctors Brown and Bucshon become seekers Seated across the table from me at Cafe Patachou were Drs. Tim Brown and Larry Bucshon. Dr. Bucshon was a heart surgeon from Newburgh. Dr. Brown is an emergency room physician from Crawfordsville. What made this breakfast meeting extraordinary is tha

    April 20, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Littering shows disregard for surroundings Numbers tell a sad story about the disregard many Hoosiers have for their surroundings. Too many in Indiana don't care enough about the environment to prevent them from cluttering the countryside by carelessly tossing litter along the side of roadway

    April 18, 2014

  • WOLFSIE: High-tech got you down? I love where I bank. It's a branch inside of a big supermarket. I can make a modest withdrawal and then go and blow every last penny in the cookie aisle. The tellers at the window appreciate me. They know about my obsession with round numbers and und

    April 18, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should mushroom hunters be allowed to forage off-trail in Indiana state parks?

Yes
No
Undecided
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.