Pharos-Tribune

Breaking News

Opinion

April 17, 2013

GUTWEIN: Keeping Ind. as a crossroads

As I meet with my constituents across my district, I spend a considerable amount of time on the road. Having grown up in Northwest Indiana, I know the conditions they are in like the back on my hand and understand that they are overdue for repair.

Hoosiers and visitors alike rely upon our transportation infrastructure. It allows shipments to reach factories on time, employees to arrive at work safely and ensures that my family’s Gutwein popcorn finds its way to hungry Hoosiers. Playing a substantial role in every Hoosier’s life, our local roads and highways require a tremendous amount of funding to restore and maintain them.

It is said that “roads lead to jobs,” and I believe Indiana’s economic well-being rests on the condition of our transportation system. Many of our recent jobs announcements, like Chrysler expanding in Kokomo, are attributed to the strength of our infrastructure. Employers consider the access to different modes of transportation in moving goods and services as a top priority. Indiana has done an excellent job attracting companies because of its transportation system and geographical location to other major markets. We are the Crossroads of America, and we need to build on this reputation by continuing to invest in our roads and bridges.

The House has set one of its priorities in repairing and constructing our local and state roads and bridges. This is evident in House Bill 1001, the state’s budget for 2014-15. All under the umbrella of conservative, fiscal management and living within our means, the budget protects taxpayers, restores funding for education and strengthens our state’s infrastructure. The House Ways and Means team has put in countless hours of work hearing public testimony in an effort to craft an honestly balanced budget proposal.

Members of Ways and Means discovered a way to open up $140 million annually for road repair and maintenance. This was done by removing “off-the-top” expenses from the Motor Vehicle Highway Account (MVHA), which funds INDOT projects. As prices for gas continue to rise and more fuel-efficient cars are made, people are spending less time at the pump. When this occurs, Indiana’s gas tax revenue, which assists in funding the MVHA, has steadily declined.

To counter this, the House’s budget will dedicate 20 percent of the state gas tax to the MVHA, resulting in an estimated $110 million funding increase. These two concepts permanently increase road and bridge funding by $250 million annually which will assist in the upkeep of our transportation infrastructure.

The House’s budget funds Hoosier priorities: education, transportation and public safety. I support these priorities as we seek to improve the livelihood of all Hoosiers.

State Rep. Douglas Gutwein is a Republican serving House District 16, which consists of large portions of Newton, Jasper and Pulaski counties and a small section of Starke County in northwestern Indiana.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • THEIR VIEW: Indiana needs open primary elections Indiana's primary election system is dysfunctional. What the state really needs is an open primary system. This month, the Lake County election board argued about the procedures for recruiting high school students as poll workers for the May 6 primar

    April 23, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Tax bills show what smoke & mirrors don't There's a price to be paid for the decline in what we call civic engagement -- and local property taxpayers are paying that price. In case you haven't received your 2014 Cass County property tax statement yet, be prepared for a bit of sticker shock w

    April 23, 2014

  • MARCUS: Illinois brings joy to Indiana From the email this week, I sensed a profound need by Hoosiers to find joy in the problems of Illinois. Our neighbors to the west are fighting their way through a mess of their own making. They have forced themselves to raise taxes and cut services t

    April 22, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Let voters weigh option of easing daily commute There was a time in this country when workers typically lived less than an hour's walk from their jobs. A time when a "commuter" was simply a traveler taking advantage of a reduced railway fare on his way to the big city. A time when the American sub

    April 22, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: Wait a minute here — what did I just sign? When Dr. Sam said, "You've got the prostate of a 16-year-old," it was hard to keep from beaming. This must be how a woman feels when a complete stranger tells her she has a beautiful baby. Well, maybe not quite. Still, it was hard not to feel proud o

    April 22, 2014

  • LYONS: How we devalued the 'R' word At the risk of angering somebody like MSNBC's Melissa Harris-Perry, I sometimes used to joke that I only look white. Actually, I'm Irish. Meaning basically that I wasn't raised to think the man in the big house had all the answers, nor deserved all t

    April 21, 2014

  • HAYDEN: Want better teacher ratings? Ask the kids The state may be back where it started, encumbered with a flawed teacher grading system, a year after implementing what were meant to be tough new standards. That was the general consensus of the State Board of Education days after teacher evaluation

    April 21, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Careful look at tax structure needed Indiana legislators this year created a "blue-ribbon commission" to study the state's taxes on businesses this summer. We hope the commission will listen to Larry DeBoer, a Purdue professor who might understand Indiana's tax structure better than any

    April 20, 2014

  • KNISELY: Adventures in cat spaying If you're a regular reader of this column, you know I have a cat. I got the cat to deal with the mice. Even if you only pop in on this column from time to time, you still likely know I have mice and that I hate them. I complain about it quite regular

    April 20, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: Letters for Sunday, April 20, 2014 Power forum hopes to answer questions Do you pay electric bills? Then you are invited to learn how Public Power can often lower electric rates. Logansport's coal firing plant must be shut down within two years, and our contract with Duke expires in f

    April 20, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should mushroom hunters be allowed to forage off-trail in Indiana state parks?

Yes
No
Undecided
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Raw: Deadly Bombing in Egypt Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Raw: Obama Arrives in Japan for State Visit Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' Obama to Oso: We'll Be Here As Long As It Takes Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly Pipeline Opponents Protest on National Mall Hagel Gets Preview of New High-tech Projects S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart New Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees Named 'Piles' of Bodies in South Sudan Slaughter SCOTUS Hears Tv-over-Internet Case Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers Iowa College Finds Beauty in Bulldogs
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.