Pharos-Tribune

Opinion

November 26, 2013

THEIR VIEW: An ethics test for Tony Bennett

Tony Bennett, who as Indiana’s state superintendent of public instruction just loved to give grades to students, teachers and schools, soon will get a grade of his own — on an ethics test.

Will he pass or fail? An A or an F?

The Indiana State Ethics Commission will be the one to grade Bennett’s work. On Jan. 9, 2014, that five-member body is scheduled to preside at a public hearing at which Bennett will essentially be on trial. He will have to defend himself against charges of breaking Indiana’s law about use of government property, staff, equipment and time for political purposes in his capacity as what the law calls a “state officer.”

In an ethics complaint filed Thursday, state Inspector General David O. Thomas, a former Clay County Prosecutor, contends that Bennett, while working as state superintendent and while running for re-election in 2012, “... used state computer systems, equipment and/or software to engage in political campaign and/or personal activity, including: Political campaign fundraising, responding to a political opponent’s assertions, scheduling campaign meetings, scheduling campaign telephone calls, and/or other political and/or personal activity, all in violation of 42 IAC 1-5-12.”

We quote all of that verbiage to show that this is not a slight ethical violation that is being alleged, not just a tiny slip or unintentional oversight. If the charges are valid and provable, they will have demonstrated a concerted, willful and organized effort by Bennett to use state property and personnel in his unsuccessful campaign for re-election.

For instance, fundraising lists, a donor call list and a database of some 6,500 Republican activists were reportedly found on state Department of Education computers after his successor, Glenda Ritz, took over the office. Those all could be seen to be tools for Bennett’s re-election. Bennett will have to prove the educational or administrative purposes for those data.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • PARKER: It's time to take a joke, America In selecting Stephen Colbert to replace David Letterman as host of the "Late Show," CBS has waged war on America's Heartland -- or so proclaims that Palm Beach font of heartland mirth, Rush Limbaugh. Don't you believe it, Heartlanders. But wait, ther

    April 16, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Constitutional convention won't work today There seems to be a growing idea that we need a Constitutional convention. That, of course, is the other way to change the Constitution. Amendments have been used 27 times to make changes, ranging from limiting the president's term of office to the d

    April 16, 2014

  • KITCHELL: Forum about adding answers, subtracting questions A week from tonight, Logansport residents and those outside Logansport who purchase electricity from the Logansport Municipal Utilities will have a chance to find out some things for themselves. A free forum at McHale Performing Arts Center will feat

    April 16, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: The people are losing control of its government The people are losing control of government President Obama and progressive Democrats and Republicans are changing the landscape of our country by bypassing our Constitution and what our forefathers fought and gave their lives for. Their philosophy c

    April 16, 2014

  • THEIR VIEW: Health care fraud can't go unchecked National health care spending tops $2.7 trillion annually. That leaves a lot of room, and temptation, for abuse of a bureaucracy that administers medical services. Medicare and Medicaid scams may cost taxpayers more than $98 billion each year. Health

    April 15, 2014

  • MARCUS: Truth is often unwelcome Jim Feelwright greeted me warmly as I entered the room: “Well, here he is, Mr. Negative.” Since it was a friendly meeting, I borrowed a famous line from the movies: “You can’t handle the truth.” “You,” he said, “just don’t want to see what’s really h

    April 15, 2014

  • VILLAGE IDIOT: Signs of spring finally upon us Today I saw my first crocus popping up after the long winter. It was in a picture a friend posted on Facebook. Suddenly, it seemed everyone was posting pictures of buds on trees, robins on the lawn, green shoots coming up in the garden. It was almost

    April 15, 2014

  • PUBLIC FORUM: Letters for Tuesday, April 15, 2014 Thankful to community for its care, prayers Thank you to Kyle Rans, Harrison-Metzger-Rans, Guardian Angels Hospice, Royal Center first responders and ambulance drivers for the gentle care and comforting words extended to our family. Thank you to the

    April 15, 2014

  • Brian Bosma BOSMA: House Republicans achieve legislative priorities When the General Assembly began its work last November, as Speaker I pledged a session driven by five main issues: increased road funding, enhanced job training, early childhood education, fair business taxation and cutting government red tape. With

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • LYONS: Taking pity on the Plutocrats "Should any political party attempt to abolish social security, unemployment insurance, and eliminate labor laws and farm programs, you would not hear of that party again in our political history. There is a tiny splinter group, of course, that belie

    April 14, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should e-cigarette marketing be regulated like tobacco?

Yes
No
Unsure
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.