June 30, 2013

Security Federal beats Cass County Tire in Cal Ripken final

Logansport Savings Bank tops Engineering Aggregates for 11-12 championship.

RICK CONRAD For the Pharos-Tribune

---- — After a postponement and a couple inclement weather delays the Cal Ripken league concluded its league tournament Friday night at Crain Field, following closing ceremonies.

Security Federal claimed a thrilling 3-2 win over Cass County Tire in the bottom of the sixth inning when they plated Devin Kessler on a wild pitch.

“This was an exciting win for us and for our fans,” said head coach Dean Vietti. “We had a decent season by tying for third in the league but things were coming together and we thought we’d have a good team put together for the tournament run and I guess we did. But give credit to Cass County Tire. They were the most improved team in the tournament. They didn’t have as good a season but their coaches and players put it together to make quite a run and almost win this thing.”

It was a 0-0 ballgame through three and a half innings before Security Federal got on the scoreboard. Trevor Vietti drew a one-out walk before scoring on a hit from Kessler. Kessler would later go on to score on a passed ball for the 2-0 lead after four complete.

Cass County Tire quickly answered in the top of the fifth. Caleb Chris drew a one-out walk and Jonathon Nies also reached first on a walk. With two outs Mykel Vaughn blasted a shot to an outfield gap scoring both Nies and Chris to tie the ballgame at 2-2. Vaughn would be left stranded to set things up for the exciting finale.

“We didn’t hit as well as we have been but we’ve relied on our pitching to help pull us through,” said Dean Vietti. “We’ve gone with Jeremiah Miller and Caleb Miller and we’ve also used [Devin] Kessler to throw for us and they’ve done their jobs.”


In the 11-12 age division it was Logansport Savings Bank claiming the title with a 4-1 win over Engineering Aggregates.

Logan Savings wasted no time in jumping out to an early lead in the first inning. Zach Russell, Hunter Hewitt, and Tyler Elkins each scored on hits from Russell, Elkins, and Brayden Guire. At the end of one inning of play Logan savings claimed a 3-0 lead.

Logan Savings would plate its final run in the bottom of the third when Jess McCarty scored after hits by McCarty, Alan Rodriguez, and Matt Lange. Engineering Aggregates would score its only run of the game in the top of the fourth when Jonathon Easter reached safely on an error. CJ Hallam got the RBI with a two-out double to score Easter for the 4-1 score.

Engineering Aggregates seriously threatend in the sixth by loading the bases with just one out. However, the three runners were left stranded when the next two batters went down on strikes to end the game.


Prior to the championship games the league conducted closing ceremonies and passed out awards. Winning awards in the Rookie League were Lydia Goad, who took home the sportsmanship trophy, and John Curl Jr., who claimed the M.V.P. award.

In the 9-10 Division the sportsmanship winner went to Sal Scagnoli while the M.V.P. winner was Michael Meadows.

In the 11-12 Division, Ethan Denny won the 10-year old award. Jackson Kraud and Carson Loposser were named the sportsmanship winners while Wes Bennett won the M.V.P. award.

The Kenny Achey family were named volunteers of the year by winning the Jim Crain Award, and Jim Crain was named the winner of the Jim Metz award.