December 12, 2013

Sports briefs for Dec. 12


---- — Culver Acad. teams swim past Logan

Logansport’s swimming and diving teams were swept by Culver Academies Wednesday in the LHS pool. The Eagles won the girls meet 101-82 and the boys meet 112-66.

Brooke Bullard won the diving competition for the Lady Berries. Jennifer Crafford was a triple winner. She won the 200 IM and 100 breaststroke and teamed with Isabelle Kraud, Emily Clark and Becca Yeoman to win the 200 medley relay.

“This was another really good meet. Culver is a tough team,” LHS coach Heidi Hendricks-Knight said. “We stayed close the whole way. Katie Easter had a PR in the 100 free. We went 1-2-3 — Crafford, Frye, Newell — in the 100 breaststroke. Isabelle Kraud had a great swim in the 500 free, her best time this year.”

The Logan boys had four first-place winners on the night. Jake Forgey won diving, Dustin Clements won the 100 backstroke, Marcus Record won the 100 butterfly and Zane Densborn won the 200 IM.

“I’m really happy for these boys. It was a good meet. We had some more good swims,” Hendricks-Knight said. “Marcus Record had a great swim in the 100 fly, his best this year. Trevor Benn had a PR in the 100 free.”

Eastern, Taylor might leave MIC

For the first time in over a decade, the Mid-Indiana Conference appears to be receiving a facelift.

Taylor High School athletic director Karen Franklin announced early Wednesday afternoon in a press release that Taylor and Eastern Community Schools were leaving the MIC following the conclusion of the 2014-15 school year to join a new-look Hoosier Heartland Conference.

Eastern officials were unaware such announcement was going to be made. No official decision has been made by the school corporation. Although discussions on the matter have been had, a formal decision won’t be made until after Christmas break, Superintendent Tracy Caddell said.

“Eastern is seriously exploring the option and will take a proposal to the school board in January, and the board at that time will vote on whether to leave the conference or not,” Caddell explained. “[Athletic director] Brad [Wilson] will take that proposal in January, but it will be up to the board at that time to decide if we are indeed leaving the conference or not.”

Later Wednesday, Franklin released a revised press release, excluding Eastern from the announcement. Taylor’s school board is yet to approve the move, either, however. Although seemingly more of a foregone conclusion than Eastern, a decision on Taylor’s conference affiliation won’t like come until January, as well.

The Hoosier Heartland Conference, which currently consists of Carroll, Clinton Central, Clinton Prairie, Rossville, Sheridan and Tri-Central, would add Eastern, Taylor, Frontier and Tri-County to form a 10-team conference. The conference would begin competition in its new form at the start of the 2015-16 school year.

Frontier and Tri-County are members of the Midwest Conference, but several of its members are leaving to join a new conference, the Hoosier North Athletic Conference, in the fall of 2015, leaving the two schools in need of a new home.

The current MIC lineup has remained unchanged since 2000, when Hamilton Heights joined as the eighth team after leaving the now defunct Rangeline Conference. Eastbrook left the MIC in 1998 to join the Central Indiana Conference, swapping places with Peru, which had been a member of the CIC since 1932.