Pharos-Tribune

Local Sports

April 24, 2013

BOYS GOLF PREVIEW: Hitting the links

Golf teams facing harsh playing conditions in early season

Despite mostly poor weather thus far this spring, the outlook for area boys golf teams remains sunny.

The following are season-preview capsules of the teams, starting with Logansport, which has a new coach this year.

Logansport

Pete Lundy is the Berries’ new coach. Michael Miller stepped down to concentrate on his career in administration.

Lundy has grown up in golf. He’s been an assistant coach at Whiteland High School. A graduate of Wabash High School, he golfed for a time at Franklin College. His father, Roger Lundy, is known as one of the best golf instructors in the state. Pete Lundy is now a full-time fifth grade teacher at Landis.

The Berries return a host of players with varsity experience, and there’s competition for the spots.

They were defeated by Maconaquah 169-183 on Tuesday at the Peru Muni. Deion Rennewanz led the Berries (1-3) with a 43, followed by Bo Bullard (46), Bryan Worthington (46), Jacob Pomasl (48) and Keaton Miller (53).

On Monday, the Berries were defeated by Culver Academy 153-200 at Mystic Hills. Will Harvey led the Berries with a 46, followed by Worthington (49), Bullard (50), Pomasl (55) and Rennewanz (58).

Last year at the Logansport Sectional, Worthington shot an 80 and Rennewanz carded an 84 to advance to the regional at Battle Ground as a freshman and sophomore, respectively.

Lundy expects the Berries to improve as the season goes along, and the thinks they can be 10 to 15 strokes better as a team than they were a year ago.

Logansport is still hosting a sectional this year, but the field will consist of some different teams. The Berries finished fourth as a team at the sectional a year ago, eight strokes behind Winamac for the final spot at the regional.

Cass

Last season was truly a memorable one for the Kings. They went 15-0 and were Mid-Indiana Conference and Logansport Sectional champions.

They’ve got three of their top five golfers back in senior David Watterson, junior Jacob Martin and sophomore Zach Watterson.

David Watterson recently signed to play at IPFW, a Division I school.

“That’s really big,” Cass coach Susan Truax said. “I have noticed he’s been a little more relaxed this year. The pressure is off. He’s already signed with the college and now he gets to go out and have some fun and play some really good golf.”

The Kings shot an even-par round at the Peru Muni this year, which they’re checking if it was a record. They finished second at the Caston Invite at Pond View by one stroke to Delphi.

“We’re still trying to find that fourth man,” Truax said. “We do have three that could fill that spot very easily in Carson Lytle, Ryan Aldridge and Derek Dittfield.”

The Kings will compete at the Peru Sectional at Rock Hollow this season.

“I think it will be tougher. There are a lot of good teams that play in that, but I still think we have a really good shot at it,” Truax said.

If the Kings get out of the Peru Sectional, they’ll compete at the Warsaw Regional at Stonehenge.

Winamac

The Warriors have a young but talented team. They finished third at the Logansport Sectional last season to advance to the regional.

“We’ve got one junior, four sophomores and four freshmen but have won two invitationals at Warsaw and the bi-county,” Winamac coach Scott Roudebush said. “At Twin Lakes we finished in the middle of the pack but only seven strokes out of third, and we played horrible.

“We’re 5-0 in matches. We’re not scoring quite as well as we’d like but we’re scoring when we need to. We have a lot of potential.”

The Warriors lineup includes a top four of Adam Gruenig, Bryant Larkin, Karsten Roudebush and Beau Conner, and there’s a battle for the fifth spot between Josh Tankersly, Kyle Hettinger and Garrett Pesarasi.

“We’ve got all golfers now. They love to play all the time,” Scott Roudebush said. “We strive to win all the meets and win the sectional.”

The Warriors will again compete at the Logansport Sectional. But the Winamac coach said he was not happy with the changes made by the IHSAA for this postseason.

“They’re only taking 15 teams to the state finals instead of 21 in a non-class sport. They’re depriving 30 kids of competing at the state finals,” he said. “In our regional, the sectionals from Valparaiso and Lake Central will now be competing. I think Valparaiso is ranked No. 1. Our mountain just grew by half.

“They’re saying it’s because of slow play at the state finals. I don’t buy it. Make it work. Penalize them for slow play. The best golfers in the state are there. It’s not like there’s a bunch of 100 shooters. I don’t like what’s happening there. We’ve made it to the regional six years in a row. We have not competed well there but we got experience and if we come together one time down there we have a chance of getting out. It’s a lot more difficult now.”

Pioneer

The Panthers have a senior-laden team. They’re led by senior Mitch Williams, who was a regional qualifier as a sophomore. Sophomore Carter Skaggs was a regional qualifier as a freshman.

Other seniors are Alex Boonstra, Tyler Beaupre and Garrett Schreyer.

“All four of those guys, Mitch, Alex, Garrett and Carter can shoot 40 to 45 on a regular basis. Tyler can shoot 45 to 49,” Pioneer coach Jess Robinson said. “The top four it’s a roll of the dice to see who’s playing where.”

The Panthers will be trying to catch up to Winamac this season.

“I don’t think anybody at the conference has come within 30 or 40 strokes of Winamac the last few years,” Robinson said. “Twin Lakes is obviously the favorite at the sectional with Winamac and Rensselaer right there. Logansport is improved. Hopefully if we have a career day maybe we’ll have a shot.

“We’ve got four guys that can shoot low to mid 80s on a good day. Hopefully we have a good day.

“We’ve had two practices in the last two weeks. We’ve had three dual meets rained out, tournaments canceled. ... Everybody’s been in the same boat.”

Caston

The Comets graduated six seniors from last year’s team that finished sixth at the Logansport Sectional.

“We have no seniors. Last year we had a really experienced team,” Caston coach Tim Strasser said. “The theme for this year is to work on fundamentals and be patient with them.”

The Comets’ lone returning letterwinner is junior Conner Martin, who is the squad’s No. 1 golfer this year.

Other golfers on the varsity include Zach Herd, Garrett Gray, Trey Doan, Nick Richter and Daron Weaver.

“The second week of the season we improved 60 strokes as a team,” Strasser said. “We are getting better. Conner should be playing in the 80s consistently. Garrett can be in the low 90s. The rest of them are looking for under a hundred. We’re not there yet. The weather has been terrible so far. We haven’t had a decent Saturday. It’s been cold and windy and miserable.

“Conner has a shot of getting out of the sectional and placing at the conference. I figure we’ll end up placing third at the conference. If we don’t have a decent day we’ll be farther back than that.”

The Comets are again competing at the Logansport Sectional this year.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Local Sports
  • SPL - PT082014 - Cass football Lewis Cass football looks to field another strong team Lewis Cass may lack experience entering this season, but not moxie. The Kings return just a handful of starters from last year’s team that finished 5-5, one of the few teams in recent program history that did not win more games than it lost.There wil

    August 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SPL - PT081914 - Pioneer football Pioneer football looks to build off last season's success Pioneer’s football team enjoyed yet another double-digit win season and won its first sectional title in five years last season.But it was also a year a youthful Panthers squad saw its 47-game Midwest Conference winning streak end. The Panthers also

    August 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Sports briefs for Tuesday, Aug. 19 North Miami beat Lewis Cass by a score of 219-226 in a girls golf match Monday at Logan Golf Club.

    August 19, 2014

  • SPL - PT081814 - Caston football Caston football looking to get back to winning ways After a run of eight-win seasons in three of the previous four years, Caston’s football team took a step back a year ago when Comets posted an up and down campaign and a 3-8 record.Veteran Caston coach Chris Ulerick was more succinct when talking abo

    August 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Sports briefs for Monday, Aug. 18 Dykeman Park G.C. player Noah Lange helped the Kokomo Region PGA Junior All-Stars score a convincing victory over Muncie in a state quarterfinal match Saturday at Rock Hollow G.C. Kokomo recorded 10 1/2 flags while Muncie managed just 1 1/2.

    August 18, 2014

  • DUAL THREAT Winamac football aiming for another big season

    The Winamac football team enjoyed one of its finest seasons in school history a year ago.

    August 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Sports briefs, Aug. 17

    KOKOMO — Logansport’s girls golf team shot a 397 to finish 16th out of 20 teams at the Chippendale Invitational on Saturday at Chippendale Golf Club. Western hosted the event. Hamilton Southeastern won with a 304.

    August 17, 2014

  • SPL - PT081514 - Volleyball preview Volleyball preview: Logan, Pioneer squads enter season with high hopes Dena Kuhn has a veteran group to work with in her first year at the helm of the Logansport volleyball team.Eight of the 10 players in the Berries’ main rotation are seniors.“We’ve got an outstanding varsity squad. They are really going to put it to o

    August 15, 2014 1 Photo

  • SPL - PT081414 - boys cross country preview Boys XC runners ready for start of season Logansport’s boys cross country team graduated three of its top four runners from a year ago but does return Cass County Male Runner of the Year, Jacob Graf.Graf was an All-North Central Conference first-team member, led his team to a regional appear

    August 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • Sports briefs for Thursday, Aug. 14 Sophomore Kristina Kniesly fired a 1-over par 37 on the front nine at Dykeman Park Golf Course on Wednesday to lead the Logansport girls golf team to a 177-224 win over Lewis Cass.

    August 14, 2014

Featured Ads
More pharostribune.com
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
AP Video
Changes Coming to No-Fly List Raw: IDF Footage Said to Show Airstrikes Police: Ferguson More Peaceful Raw: Aftermath of Airstrike in Gaza Raw: Thousands March on Pakistani Parliament Raw: World's Oldest Man Lives in Japan Fire Crews Tame Yosemite Fire Raw: Police Weapon Drawn Near Protesters, Media Raw: Deadly Landslides in Japan Raw: Explosions in Gaza As Airstrikes Resume Arrests Witnessed in Ferguson Charter Schools Alter Post-Katrina Landscape Texas Gov. Perry: Indictment 'a Political Act' US Officials: Video Shows American's Beheading Video Shows Ferguson Cop Months Before Shooting Water Bottles Recalled for Safety Researcher Testing On-Field Concussion Scanners
Poll

Does Indiana need a statewide water management plan and an administrator to implement it?

Yes
No
Unsure
     View Results
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.