December 24, 2013

Sports briefs for Dec. 24


---- — Logansport girlsswim past Kokomo

KOKOMO — Logansport’s girls swim team was victorious against Kokomo Monday at Kokomo.

The Logan girls won 105-78, while the Logan boys were defeated by the Katfish 128-52 at the Christmas Break meet.

Rebecca Yeoman and Jen Crafford were quadruple winners on the night to lead the Lady Berries. Individually, Yeoman won the 100 and 200 freestyle events, and Crafford won the 200 individual medley and 100 breaststroke.

Emily Clark won the 100 butterfly, Isabelle Kraud won the 500 free and Brook Bullard won in diving.

Kraud, Crafford, Clark and Yeoman teamed to win the 200 medley relay, and Crafford, Brittany Morrow, Clark and Yeoman won the 200 free relay.

Dustin Clements won the 100 backstroke and 50 free to lead the Logan boys. Jacob Forgey won in diving.

Next up for the Berries is the North Central Conference meet at Ball State on Jan. 11. The diving prelims will be held in Kokomo on Jan. 7.

DePaul women winDuel in the Desert

LAS VEGAS — Jasmine Penny led four DePaul players in double-figures and helped the Blue Demons to a 79-57 win, over Louisiana-Monroe in the championship game of the Duel in the Desert on Saturday at UNLV’s Cox Pavilion.

DePaul has won four straight and improves to 8-3, while Louisiana-Monroe falls to 4-8.

Penny had 16 points, four rebounds, three assists, three steals and two blocks in 21 minutes in the win.

On Friday in a 73-66 win over Washington, Penny had 14 points, eight rebounds and two blocks in 27 minutes.

Gault earns spot on Silver Anniversary team

The Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame today announced its 2014 Women’s Silver Anniversary Team and Logansport product Courtney (Sands) Gault is one of the 18 honorees.

The Hall of Fame picked players based on outstanding accomplishments as senior players 25 years ago.

The team includes 10 members of the 1989 Indiana All-Star squad, including Miss Basketball Renee Westmoreland of Scottsburg. She led Scottsburg to the 1989 state championship. Eight other all-state players are included on the Silver Anniversary Team.

Gault was named second-team all-state by Hoosier Basketball Magazine. She averaged 18 points, 10 rebounds and three blocks per game as a senior for 14-8 Berries and participated in Top 40 workout.

She scored 1,527 points and 929 rebounds in career at University of Indianapolis. She set school career records for games played (112), FT made (493), FT attempts (790), rebounds (929), blocks (188) and blocks per game (1.7) and graduated second in points, scoring average (13.6), and rebound average (8.3). She remains in the top 10 in 12 career statistical categories and her name is listed 54 times in their career, season and game records. She was a two-year team MVP, GLVC conference Player of the Year, 1993 Kodak All-American and Dr. Robert M. Brooker Outstanding Female Athlete award recipient. She was inducted into UIndy athletics Hall of Fame in 2002. She is married with two children and is a fitness instructor and PE/health teacher. She resides in Haymarket, Va.

The Silver Anniversary Team members will be honored at the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame’s 13th annual Women’s Banquet on April 26 in Indianapolis.