February 26, 2014

Cass Co. primary ballot ready

Mark Leeman files for prosecutor

by Mitchell Kirk Pharos-Tribune

---- — More than 70 names mark the pages of the Cass County ballot for the primary election to take place in May.

One local contest will precede the November general election while another will decide who will represent local Republicans at the state convention.

One is for the the board members of Eel Township. Township boards can have three members and seven have signed up to represent Eel.

The second is among Republican state convention delegates, as the group of candidates vying for the role exceeds the 12 open slots by four.

Mark Leeman, an attorney at the Leeman Law Office in Logansport, has filed for prosecuting attorney for Indiana’s 29th Judicial Court in Cass County. The Democrat will go up against Cass County Chief Deputy Prosecutor Lisa Swaim in November, who announced her intent to file on the Republican ticket last year.

Leeman, a Cass County native, has served judges with courts in Indiana and Louisiana and worked in the litigation department for Seyfarth Shaw’s Chicago office. He was Logansport city attorney from 2010 to 2011 and is an adjunct professor at Trine University.

Leeman said should he be elected, he plans to focus on efficiency, predictability and ensuring punishment is inevitable for criminal acts.

The experience he gained working for judges from different political parties, working with law enforcement and working as an attorney and professor will help bring local criminal justice “to a point where people in Cass County understand that if they’re going to commit a criminal offense, that their punishment is going to be inevitable,” Leeman said.

Leeman also strongly advocated establishing a public defender board to the county to get compensation for indigent defense services. Cass County Commissioners approved the creation of such a board late last year.

He said he is continuing to meet those in the local criminal justice system to hear their ideas.

“I want to hear from everybody,” Leeman said.

Other Democrats who have filed are Indiana U.S. representative District 4 candidates Jeffrey Blaydes of Coatesville, John Dale of Westpoint, Roger Day of Avon, John Futrell of Indianapolis and Howard Pollchik of Crawfordsville. The position is currently held by Rep. Todd Rokita, who will run against fellow Republican Kevin Grant of West Lafayette in the primary.

Democrat Maurice Fuller of Logansport has filed for Indiana state representative for District 25, currently represented by Rep. Don Lehe, a Republican. Franklyn Voorhies, a Delphi Republican, has filed for the position as well.

The remaining Democrat slots on the ballot are empty. Several township trustee and board member openings currently do not have contenders from either party.

Cass County Democratic Party Chairman Paul Ulerick said it isn’t a preview of what to expect from Democrats for the election in November.

“We expect to fill some of those others,” Ulerick said. “We knew we weren’t going to have a lot of primary competition, but there’s a number we’re supporting or grooming for some of those other positions.”

Cass County Primary Election Ballot U.S. Representative District 4 Republican Kevin Grant, Lafayette Todd Rokita, Indianapolis DemocratJeffrey Blaydes, Coatesville John Dale, Westpoint Roger Day, Avon John Futrell, Indianapolis Howard Pollchik, Crawfordsville State Representative District 23 RepublicanWilliam Friend, Macy State Representative District 25 RepublicanDonald Lehe, Brookston Franklyn Voorhies, Delphi DemocratMaurice Fuller, Logansport State Representative District 38 RepublicanHeath VanNatter, Kokomo Prosecuting Attorney 29th Judicial Court RepublicanLisa Swaim, Logansport DemocratMark Leeman, Logansport Recorder RepublicanCindy Howard, Logansport Sheriff RepublicanRandy Pryor, Logansport Assessor RepublicanCathy Isaacs, Logansport Commissioner 3rd District RepublicanJeff LeDeonne, Logansport Council 1st District RepublicanPhillip Rains, Lucerne Council 2nd District RepublicanGrover Bishop, Logansport Council 3rd District RepublicanSteven Kain, Logansport Council 4th District RepublicanBrian Reed, Galveston Adams Township Trustee RepublicanRay Staller, Logansport Bethlehem Township TrusteeNone Boone Township Trustee RepublicanBob Pifer, Royal Center Clay Township Trustee RepublicanDavid Kain, Logansport Clinton Township Trustee RepublicanDave Arnold, Logansport Eel Township Trustee RepublicanTom Knepper, Logansport Harrison Township Trustee RepublicanCatherine Cree, Lucerne Jackson Township Trustee RepublicanCindy Marschand, Galveston Jefferson Township Trustee RepublicanMark Cotner, Logansport Miami Township TrusteeNone Noble Township TrusteeNone Tipton Township Trustee RepublicanMarcia Harness, Walton Washington Township Trustee RepublicanJames Mayhill, Logansport Adams Township Board Member RepublicanFred Easter, Twelve Mile Blake Mollenkopf, Logansport Robert Skinner, Twelve Mile Bethlehem Township Board MemberNone Boone Township Board Member RepublicanMary Lou Foerg, Royal Center Rebecca Groff, Royal Center Clay Township Board Member RepublicanJohn Carson, Logansport Thomas Weatherwax, Logansport Clinton Township Board Member RepublicanDaryl Deitrich, Logansport Rob Heckard, Logansport Tom Lane, Logansport Deer Creek Township Board MemberNone Eel Township Board Member RepublicanRick Bernhardt, Logansport John Bingaman, Logansport Mary Fox, Logansport Sharon Kain, Logansport Thomas Keplar, Logansport Tony Key, Logansport Gordon Wilson, Logansport Harrison Township Board Member RepublicanMarilyn Carter, Lucerne Herd Crimmins, Lucerne Brenda Rusk, Royal Center Jackson Township Board Member RepublicanMarsha Dollar, Galveston W. Edward Smith, Galveston Jefferson Township Board MemberNone Miami Township Board MemberNone Noble Township Board Member RepublicanEdward McKaig Jr., Logansport Tipton Township Board Member RepublicanJames Beechy, Walton Linda Riley, Walton Washington Township Board Member RepublicanMatt Gremelspacher, Walton Chuck Stephenson, Logansport State Convention Delegates RepublicanDixie Baker, Logansport Tim Elpers, Walton Mary Hitchens, Logansport Thomas Keplar, Logansport Larry Phipps, Walton Patti Price, Logansport Lisa Swaim, Logansport Kay Weatherwax, Logansport Pam Elpers, Logansport Randall Head, Logansport Sharon Kain, Logansport Annette Phipps, Logansport Herb Price, Logansport W. Edward Smith, Logansport Myra Vanecek, Logansport Thomas Weatherwax, Logansport