Pharos-Tribune

Entertainment

December 10, 2012

Movie preview: “The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey”

Rated: PG-13 for extended sequences of intense fantasy action violence, and frightening images

Running time: 2 hr 50 min

Cast: Martin Freeman, Ian McKellen, Richard Armitage, Andy Serkis, Elijah Wood

Plot: In a story set in Middle-earth 60 years before “The Lord of the Rings,” Bilbo Baggins joins Gandalf and a band of dwarves on a treacherous quest to a distant mountain in this epic fantasy adventure adapted from J.R.R. Tolkien's beloved novel.

 

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Entertainment
  • "Rio 2" movie poster Movie preview: “Rio 2”

    Plot: In this animated sequel, Blu and his family take flight for the Amazon after Jewel decides their children should explore the world.

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • "Draft Day" movie poster Movie preview: “Draft Day”

    Plot: On the day of the NFL draft, a general manager has the opportunity to rebuild his team when he trades for the number one pick.

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • "Oculus" movie poster Movie preview: “Oculus”

    Plot: Two siblings haunted by a childhood tragedy learn that the source of their horror is a mysterious mirror with a dark history.

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • [friday]: Muffin tins aren't just for muffins There are potlucks, and then there are potlucks . Regular potlucks, they’re like a white elephant gift exchange. Mom makes the food that the kids don’t like to eat and shares it with everybody with grown-up taste buds. Or, take me. I make a casserole

    April 11, 2014

  • dustin diamond [friday]: Your best bets for fun this weekend Easter at the park The Logansport Parks Department's annual Easter Egg Hunt with an Easter Bunny will be from 10 to 11:30 a.m. Saturday at Riverside Park, for children ages 1 to 12. There will be picture time with the Easter Bunny and parents can b

    April 11, 2014 3 Photos

  • [friday]: Dangerous pastimes There's still a purple splotch on my knee from the last time I went roller-skating. I should know better than to try fancy moves. For one thing, it had been a whole year since I'd done something so foolish as try to stand up on a wheeled object. Kind

    April 4, 2014

  • "Captain America- The Winter Soldier" movie poster Movie preview: “Captain America: The Winter Soldier”

    Plot: As Steve Rogers continues his affiliation with S.H.I.E.L.D and struggles to embrace his role in the modern world, he must battle a new threat from old history: the Soviet assassin known as The Winter Soldier.

    April 2, 2014 1 Photo

  • "Bad Words" movie poster Movie preview: “Bad Words”

    Plot: A forty-year-old man discovers a loophole in the National Spelling Bee rules that allows him to compete against the pre-teen participants.

    April 2, 2014 1 Photo

  • [friday]: It takes two, baby When I was little, my dad used to have me and my siblings on "deer alert" driving by Mississinewa Reservoir not too far from here. It was a fun game - anytime I thought I'd spotted a deer, I got to yelp out the news and scare my dad half to death. I

    March 28, 2014

  • "Noah" movie poster Movie preview: “Noah”

    Plot: Inspired by the epic Bible story, a man is chosen by God to undertake a momentous mission of rescue before an apocalyptic flood destroys the world.

    March 27, 2014 1 Photo

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should e-cigarette marketing be regulated like tobacco?

Yes
No
Unsure
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Tributes Mark Boston Bombing Anniversary Raw: Kan. Shooting Suspect Faces Judge US Supports Ukraine's Efforts to Calm Tensions Suspect in Kansas Shootings Faces Murder Charges Ukraine: Military Recaptures Eastern Airport Raw: Storm Topples RVs Near Miss. Gulf Coast NASA Showcases Lunar Eclipse Pistorius Cries During Final Cross-Examination The Boston Marathon Bombing: One Year Later Michael Phelps Set to Come Out of Retirement First Women Move to Army Platoon Artillery Jobs Sex Offenders Charged in Serial Killings Police: Woman Stored Dead Babies in Garage OC Serial Murder Suspects May Have More Victims Family: 2 Shot in Head at Kan. Jewish Center Raw: Horse Jumping Inspires 'Bunny Hop' After Attack, Officials Kill 5 Bears in Florida Popular Science Honors Year's Top Inventions ND Oil Boom Attracting Drug Traffickers
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.