Pharos-Tribune

Entertainment

July 9, 2014

Review: Unlimited e-book services offer plenty

Spanish Fork, Utah — Two startups are trying to do for e-books what Netflix does for movies.

Oyster and Scribd let you read as many books as you want for a monthly price — $10 for Oyster and $9 for Scribd.

I was skeptical at first. I can never find enough time to read, and I'm picky about what I do read. I was worried about their limited book selections.

But I found plenty to read in no time, and I found myself reading more than I normally would. These services are great if you have a long weekend or a vacation coming up, or in my case three weeks of travels from California to New York.

Just don't think it'll be the same as walking into a library and finding just about any book you want.

— THE SELECTION:

I checked several titles from my wish list and asked colleagues for other suggestions, including a few for kids or in foreign languages. Of the 75 I checked, Oyster had 17 and Scribd had 16. For some popular novels, such as "The Hunger Games" series and "A Fault in Our Stars," I got readers' guides and other companions, but not the actual books.

Both services have selected titles from Simon & Schuster, HarperCollins and lots of smaller publishers, but other major U.S. publishers — Hachette, Macmillan and Penguin Random House — remain holdouts. And even when there's a deal with a publisher, newer books tend to be excluded.

Avid readers won't be bored, though. When I signed up, Scribd asked about the types of books I like. Oyster didn't but still made good recommendations based on what other subscribers are reading.

I quickly found about two dozen books between the two services. Each time I added a title, I got recommendations for more. I just finished books on lobster populations and the Ben & Jerry's ice cream company. I'm now reading about Lance Armstrong and the doping scandal — another book I wouldn't have known about if it hadn't popped up on Scribd.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Entertainment
  • Film-Guardians of the Galaxy-15 [Duplicate] [Duplicate] 'Guardians' blasts Marvel in a different direction BURBANK, Calif. (AP) — Despite its flawless superhero pedigree, there's always been apprehension about "Guardians of the Galaxy." Since the president of Marvel Studios first teased the possibility of making a movie based on the comic book about a tea

    July 29, 2014 5 Photos

  • Film Review Guardians of the Galaxy-3 [Duplicate] [Duplicate] Review: 'Guardians' is irreverent but not enough At the height of their powers, our overlords at Marvel have deigned to prove, like an emperor tolerating a court jester, that they do, in fact, have a sense of humor. The Marvel universe, of course, isn't entirely lacking comedy, as we've seen in "Ir

    July 28, 2014 3 Photos

  • TV-Sharknado 2-3 [Duplicate] [Duplicate] 'Sharknado' sequel has bite and lots of laughs NEW YORK (AP) — Don't worry about me. The Sharknado Evacuation map supplied by Syfy network places me, as a resident of Lower Manhattan, smack in the zone most in peril this sharknado season. But I'll be ready. You might as well batten down the hatch

    July 28, 2014 3 Photos

  • TV-Naked Television [Duplicate] [Duplicate] Naked is the new norm for reality TV NEW YORK (AP) — A male contestant on a new VH1 dating show didn't beckon a woman to walk in front of him out of politeness. He wanted to check her out from behind, and didn't need to use his imagination. The "Dating Naked" series is the latest exampl

    July 28, 2014 2 Photos

  • 2014 Comic-Con - Atmosphere [Duplicate] [Duplicate] Comic-Con's dark side: Harassment amid the fantasy SAN DIEGO (AP) — Amid the costumes and fantasy of this weekend's Comic-Con convention, a group of young women drew widespread attention to a very real issue — allegations of sexual harassment at the annual pop-culture festival. Geeks for CONsent, fou

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Online Sarah Palin Channel [Duplicate] [Duplicate] Sarah Palin launches online subscription channel NEW YORK (AP) — Sarah Palin has started her own subscription-based online network. The Sarah Palin Channel, which went live on Sunday, bills itself as a "direct connection" between the former Alaska governor and GOP vice presidential candidate and he

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • [friday]: Behind the scenes at 'Shrek' Sometimes you just gotta have an accent.This week has been a busy one for the children and teens involved in Junior Civic Theater. Almost every night has been some kind of rehearsal. I sat in for part of Tuesday’s tech rehearsal and chatted with a fe

    July 25, 2014

  • "Hercules" movie poster Movie preview: “Hercules”

    Plot: Having endured his legendary twelve labors, Hercules, the Greek demigod, has his life as a sword-for-hire tested when the King of Thrace and his daughter seek his aid in defeating a tyrannical warlord.

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • "Lucy" movie poster Movie preview: “Lucy”

    Plot: Writer/director Luc Besson helms this action-thriller that tracks a woman who falls prey to sinister underworld forces, but gains superhuman abilities that allow her to strike back at her oppressors.

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • Music-Eric Clapton [Duplicate] [Duplicate] Eric Clapton says thank you to JJ Cale with 'The Breeze' NASHVILLE, Tenn. (AP) — For Eric Clapton, the early 1970s were filled with drug addiction, personal difficulties and growing dissatisfaction with music. Singer-songwriter JJ Cale rescued him and gave him a direction, though the man known as the main

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should grocery and convenience stores be allowed to sell cold beer?

Yes
No
Unsure
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Looming Demand Could Undercut Flight Safety Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.