Pharos-Tribune

Entertainment

July 18, 2013

Movie preview: “R.I.P.D.”

Rated: PG-13 for violence, sci-fi/fantasy action, some sensuality, and language including sex references

Running time: 1 hr 36 min

Cast: Jeff Bridges, Ryan Reynolds, Kevin Bacon, Mary-Louise Parker, Stephanie Szostak

Plot: Veteran sheriff Roy Pulsifer has spent his career with the legendary police force known as R.I.P.D. tracking monstrous afterlife spirits who are cleverly disguised as ordinary people. Once the wise-cracking Roy is assigned former rising-star detective Nick Walker as his junior officer, the new partners have to turn grudging respect into top-notch teamwork and uncover a plot that could end life as we know it.

 

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Entertainment
  • "Heaven Is For Real" movie poster Movie preview: “Heaven Is For Real”

    Plot: When a little boy has a near death experience neither his friends or family believe him until he talks about those who died years before.
     

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • "Rio 2" movie poster Movie preview: “Rio 2”

    Plot: In this animated sequel, Blu and his family take flight for the Amazon after Jewel decides their children should explore the world.

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • "Draft Day" movie poster Movie preview: “Draft Day”

    Plot: On the day of the NFL draft, a general manager has the opportunity to rebuild his team when he trades for the number one pick.

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • "Oculus" movie poster Movie preview: “Oculus”

    Plot: Two siblings haunted by a childhood tragedy learn that the source of their horror is a mysterious mirror with a dark history.

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • [friday]: Muffin tins aren't just for muffins There are potlucks, and then there are potlucks . Regular potlucks, they’re like a white elephant gift exchange. Mom makes the food that the kids don’t like to eat and shares it with everybody with grown-up taste buds. Or, take me. I make a casserole

    April 11, 2014

  • dustin diamond [friday]: Your best bets for fun this weekend Easter at the park The Logansport Parks Department's annual Easter Egg Hunt with an Easter Bunny will be from 10 to 11:30 a.m. Saturday at Riverside Park, for children ages 1 to 12. There will be picture time with the Easter Bunny and parents can b

    April 11, 2014 3 Photos

  • [friday]: Dangerous pastimes There's still a purple splotch on my knee from the last time I went roller-skating. I should know better than to try fancy moves. For one thing, it had been a whole year since I'd done something so foolish as try to stand up on a wheeled object. Kind

    April 4, 2014

  • "Captain America- The Winter Soldier" movie poster Movie preview: “Captain America: The Winter Soldier”

    Plot: As Steve Rogers continues his affiliation with S.H.I.E.L.D and struggles to embrace his role in the modern world, he must battle a new threat from old history: the Soviet assassin known as The Winter Soldier.

    April 2, 2014 1 Photo

  • "Bad Words" movie poster Movie preview: “Bad Words”

    Plot: A forty-year-old man discovers a loophole in the National Spelling Bee rules that allows him to compete against the pre-teen participants.

    April 2, 2014 1 Photo

  • [friday]: It takes two, baby When I was little, my dad used to have me and my siblings on "deer alert" driving by Mississinewa Reservoir not too far from here. It was a fun game - anytime I thought I'd spotted a deer, I got to yelp out the news and scare my dad half to death. I

    March 28, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Poll

Should e-cigarette marketing be regulated like tobacco?

Yes
No
Unsure
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Disbanding Muslim Surveillance Draws Praise Hundreds Missing After South Korean Ferry Sinks Passengers Abuzz After Plane Hits Swarm of Bees Boston Bomb Scare Defendant Appears in Court Pistorius Trial: Adjourned Until May 5 Diaz Gets Physical for New Comedy Raw: Ferry Sinks Off South Korean Coast Town, Victims Remember Texas Blast Freeze Leaves Florida Panhandle With Dead Trees At Boston Marathon, a Chance to Finally Finish Are School Dress Codes Too Strict? Raw: Fatal Ferry Boat Accident Suspicious Bags Found Near Marathon Finish Line Boston Marks the 1st Anniversary of Bombing NYPD Ends Muslim Surveillance Program 8-year-old Boy Gets His Wish: Fly Like Iron Man Sex Offenders Arrested in Slayings of CA Women India's Transgenders Celebrate Historic Ruling Tributes Mark Boston Bombing Anniversary Raw: Kan. Shooting Suspect Faces Judge
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.